Introducing...@steemaid - a charity powered by Steem.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

@steemaid main2.jpg

@steemaid is a non-profit powered by the cryptocurrency, STEEM with the aim of democratising and scaling grassroots philanthropy. Our focus is on humanitarian crises and social impact causes - this could be anything from funding local projects to projects in countries hit by natural disasters to putting feet on the ground in small teams to support.

Who are we?

Right now the ‘we’ is just me, but that will change with time. I'm @sammarkjames.

I have spent time volunteering in Nepal following the Earthquakes, then over a year full time volunteering in various locations across Europe with refugees. My mother founded a charity some 12 years ago called Bridge2, it’s where my experiences have come from, I’ve learnt a lot from working with her and she is part of the inspiration for this - I intend to do my bit for others.

Photo 12-11-2017, 12 50 24.jpg
Food distribution in Greece

How it works

To start with we will identify a few causes that we feel need support and begin the fundraising. In future we'd like the mechanics of this to switch to you, the supporters, to propose projects to @steemaid which will be shortlisted and voted upon.
There will be a couple of posts following this to outline and explain other parts like how donations will be used and how the money works generally.


logo_blues_signature.png

How you can help

DIRECT DONATION
You can send STEEM or SBD directly to @steemaid either to a specific project or for the POOL.

UPVOTE DONATION
The easiest way to donate - by upvoting our posts.
Add us to your auto voter to make an ongoing contribution.

VOLUNTEER
We want to hear from you, tell us what you can do and how you can help.
In future there will be a website for signing up, for now please email.

FUNDRAISING
People who to help with fundraising and come up with fresh new ideas.

FEEDBACK
Always open to ways in which @steemaid can progress and improve.


Sort:  

All the best with this very noble venture. This is the kind of initiative that we should strive for on Steemit as it grows and expands.

Unlike the Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) charades, which are usually nothing more than a pretty mask hiding the ugly reality of corporate profiteering, we can use this platform to have a direct impact on those in need, and actually do some good in those places that need it.

I'll follow and support. Full Steem Ahead.

Great to see such an effort!

it's a fucking good idea my friend! XD
I share, upvote and resteem obviously !!!

Cool! What a good cause!

love the idea. time to start scaling up! :) resteemed

Thanks @teamhumble that's great! Hoping to put a project together for Christmas time.
Don't forget to follow us to keep up to date too :P

followed! :) all the best with it. the more information behind the scenes the better. let me know if you need any video editing or whatever and i'll try and do it in some spare time if you need that. i make graphics and little animations, stings, intros etc so glad to help where i can. i really like your logo too! :)

Thanks, that's really kind of you! I probably should have asked for some tips when I mashed together the Nepal footage I had but I was a bit keen to just get it out in the wild, regardless of the finesse...

rough and ready still works especially with the work you are doing being more important than any video footage quality!

Hi@steemaid
You are doing a very Noble Cause.
Not everyone can do this.
Best of luck for your future.
God bless you.
Regards
Crafter

I love every word you said. Following, upvoted and resteemed.

Keep up the good work ! You guys are the best

Hey, @sammarkjames this is a really exciting project and I see so much potential and have so much faith in this project.. I see that the project hopes to bring financial steem aid to communities and people and also projects who need such aid. I personally have a project I have always wanted to work on related to eduation in the west african society where early childhood education has been treated with so much disdain by the gvernment (I have personal experience on dealing with the government to that regard) and nothing seems to get better about it. I hope we can build something like this together. look forward to my mail on this matter. thumbs up to this wonderful creation of @steemmaid once again mr @sammarkjames

chapeau

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94