Hello Steemit! Why I came, and why I'll stay.

closeup smaller.JPG Hey there.
I found Steemit about 4 months ago while researching cryptocurrency and blockchain technology. I found the article to be well written and insightful and even found more information in the comments. I was immediately impressed by the level of discourse found here - something sorely lacking in much of cyberspace. Since I'm not a blogger, I wasn't sure what to do here except lurk, read, and occasionally comment. My account, like so many others, languished.

Meanwhile, like many of you, I became more and more disenchanted with mainstream media and social platforms. Censorship, vicious partisanship, and a complete disregard for the truth in exchange for comforting lies is almost all you find out there. The apathy and gullibility of many of my facebook friends on both sides of the political spectrum was leaving me depressed and frustrated. My attempts to open their eyes was just annoying them. The platform itself and the power it yields disturbs me intensely. I needed a change.

Finally, I started noticing that the journalists, bloggers, and commentators that I go to for sanity and insight are making the move to Steem, and I got really excited! The path to freedom is becoming clear to me, and I feel hopeful again. I know, many of you have seen this for some time, but better late than never, ay? I was already sold on the importance of de-centralizing our currency. Know I see how the same technology can be used for information exchange, and words can hardly contain my excitement!

I don't know what I'll be inspired to use this space for long-term, but for now, I'm going to resteem my favorite journalists and bloggers who have joined the platform, and post links to some who I think should be here.

Steem on, friends!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks Trogor!

Welcome to steem community where people help each other grow and share experiences with each other.... Hope you have a good journey

Loving it so far! Your take on Steemit is exactly why I'm so happy to be here!

Your introduction is thoughtfully written. I look forward to hearing what you have to say and which journalists and bloggers you will follow. Welcome!

Wow, thank you so much! Good to meet you :)

Thank you drewsmusic :) I'll check out your music for sure!

My experience has been great so far. Hope you enjoy being here.

Hey,

Welcome to the most amazing community.Following you and Waiting more posts and updates from you.

Hoping that you will follow me too..@sanjo1986

20180130_144623.png

Hello Swamp Flower, I'm Joey, and Steemit is pretty cool like Gab and Minds and I love Bitcoin and others. Welcome.
http://Gab.AI

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56