My First Steemit Post: Introduction, Top O' The Evening Steemit!

Hi Steemit!

My name is Vanessa and I feel so excited to begin my Steemit adventure! I live in Houston, Texas, but am originally from the border town of El Paso. I am also passionate about the Tiny House lifestyle, and am currently living in a 5th wheel RV with my darling partner and my 17 year old cat, Kitty.

I currently teach yoga to middle school and high school students, some of which are struggling and enduring mental and emotional differences. I have a passion for promoting mental health as well as healing and will be pursuing my MA in Social Work in the Fall, so stay tuned for updates on that expedition!

I love and appreciate nature, new and interesting food, places, and ideas. I am quickly approaching my 30s and I feel like I have been molting into the woman that I want to be with much help and inspiration from friends and like minded individuals. I use the word molting because as essential and necessary to survival as it is, it is also painful, tedious, and vulnerable. Nevertheless, I have faith that I will continue to grow with the love that I both share and receive from family, friends, and strangers alike. I can’t wait to share some of the resources that have helped me through the years, and, at the same time, gain some tools for my toolbox.

I feel closely drawn to energetic principles and believe that everything is energy, and we have this amazing ability to be conscious and creative of our own. I look forward to sharing insight and experiences via dtube, and growing from the Steemit fam.

Take care everyone and I hope you have a wonderful beginning to 2018!
20171228_180741_HDR(2).jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

Welcome to Steemit! I received my Master's in Mental Health Counseling. It is great to meet individuals who are interested in the Human Services field. Many say that Yoga supports mindfulness. I don't know if you have ever reviewed the Mindfulness Theory, or mindfulness techniques like breathing exercises. I hope you have a lot of success here on Steemit!

Hi @bossarah, pleasure to meet you! Through my yoga practice I have experienced the benefits of mindfulness techniques and breathing exercises and have seen them transform individuals instantly. Mindfulness and Cognitive Behavioral Therapy feel very similar to me and I can't wait for my studies and practice to begin so that I can incorporate both of them, as well as nutrition for a holistic therapy approach.

I really loved when I worked for Vocational Rehabilitation because I had funds to provide a more holistic approach. Cognitive Behavioral Therapy was my theory of choice; however, in my career I find myself using more Solution-Focused because the people I deal with are usually in and out of my office. It is amazing how when studying you feel like you will use one set theory, but once you are out there you kind of pull from what works and just roll with it. It is awesome that you are helping individuals now with some of these techniques. That will help you in your Master's program a lot.

Welcome to Steemit, Vanessa!

Tiny House lifestyle, RVs, yoga, mental health and healing, social work, nature, food, places ideas....seems like there's never going to be a dull moment in your future posts!

Wish you all the best with your blogging and look forward to your participation in the community.

Thank you @maxabit! That's pretty much me in a nutshell!

Warm welcome to you dear @sweetsorrow in Steem community

Welcome to Steemit!! I look forward to seeing more posts! Follow me back! @nytravelfoodsurf

Thank you @nytravelfoodsurf! You and your travels are very inspiring. You are going to see and do amazing things!

Welcome to the weird and wonderful world of steemit :)

I'm fairly new myself and i hope you enjoy the ride!

Thank you for your kind welcome!

Hola Vanessa, me encanto tu Post. Me gustó tu cuadro ve que esta detrás de í. habla por tí también. No entendí lo de Muda. Creo que ya eres una mujer formada y muy centrada, a veces la vida no es fácil y nos toca luchar a veces contra la corriente. creo que tendrás éxitos aquí. Busca tu linea de inspiración y el grupo que te guste. Los dibujos reciben remuneración rápida. Debes hacerlo por pasos igual que los artículos que publiques . Nada de copias. si usas algo de alguien citalo o publica la fuente. Si quieres crecer debes votar a la gente de las cosas que te gusten. de allí harás amigos que te sigan. Si te sigue mucha gente crecerá tu poder de Voto en le Tren Steemit. Feliz año nuevo 2018

Hi Vanessa!
I'm new too and teach yoga like yourself! Nice to meet you!

Very interesting! I'd love to hear more on your thinking that everything is energy! :)

Ah yes, it's such a fascinating subject to me. I would recommend the book Frequency by Penny Pierce as an appetizer!

I will have a look for it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69603.16
ETH 3748.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75