New Steemit Registration Process 2018 - 😇Good and 👿 Bad!!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

New Steemit Registration Process 2018 - 😇Good and 👿 Bad!!

Hi Friends, most of us already noticed the enhanced and new look of Steemit website. Its looking fresh to the eyes and really stunning, however, along with this there are some issues which are faced by the new user who is trying to register with Steemit. The sign-up processes seem changed now. I'm sharing the 7 STEP Process to Signup on Steemit.

Step #1: Login to www.steemit.com and click on SIGN UP button on the screen.


Step #2: Just like before the new Steemit signup process starts with assigning available USERNAME. Nothing changed here. Once you enter a username, the system will check if that USERNAME is available to use or not. In case it's available, it let you move forward by hitting CONTINUE button.


Step #3: On this step of Steemit signup process, the system will request you to provide your email id. Usually, at this step, the system used to send a verification email to the provided email id, however, my family members, friends, and relatives whom I was pushing from months to try out Steemit told me that they receive no such email!!! I'm not sure if there is something wrong with their email ids or they Sign up the process for steemit is changed!


Step #4: At this step of the signup process, the system requests new user to provide his phone number. Once provided, instantly it will send a code to your phone.


Step #5: At this step, the user is required to enter receive code from the phone message and click CONTINUE button.


Step #6: At this step, the user is required to enter receive code from the phone message and click CONTINUE button.


Step #7: This seems to be the final step of the new Steemit signup process, where the system inform the new user that Steemit team will review new users signup request and once approved then they will be sent a link to finalize the Steemit account.

As I mentioned above that most of my family members, friends and relatives complain that they received no verification email from Steemit after completing the signup process and its almost 2-3 weeks!! (In few cases even nothing happened after 2-3 months)

There seems to be no direct communication from the Steemit support team. I point is that Steemit is a great community, however, I can clearly see how frustrated my friends are as they feel so left out!

Sharing screenshots from Reddit where new users showing their frustration as they have no idea, what's happening! There are no official words from Steemit team on this.


Source: Link

On behalf of all newcomer Steemit users, I would like to bring this to the attention of Steemit team. Please, help new users to successfully create an account!! My family friends will more than happy to join me here. Moreover, I tagging few big names of Steemit, in a hope that they can help. @ned, @adsactly, @steemitdev, @acidyo, @aggroed

Please don't forget to share your comments about the post!


Sort:  

Steemit's new looks are better than before. They streamlines the user-experience, however, signup process is still a pain in the a**.

I'm half heartedly agree with you my friend.

Thanks for your comments. Please resteem this post, so that it will get more exposure and if we will be lucky enough then someone from Steemit support team will respond.

This is what, I was looking for. I wish this issue with be noticed by steem team. Please ignore my comment on your other post.

Thanks for posting regarding this issue. Couple of my colleagues also tried to register on Steemit last week. Till so far they heard nothing back. They just saw the same screen as in Step 7 of your post. There is no email from Steemit so far to confirm if they got account approval! So frustrating.

Yes, most of the newcomer users experiencing similar issue.

Good going! Enjoyed reading Steemit registration update.

Thanks Dhani for your comment.

I totally agree here. New users facing a lot of issue. Most of us are not very computer savy and we don't really understand why even after providing our email and phone number, why we are not able to get access to steemit account! Is it that difficult?

Seems Steemit team pay for new account creation. May be they don't have any more money to pay for steemit accounts. Who knows!!

Congratulations @tan-eunseo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Nice informative article.

Thanks Jack!

Hi Welcome to Steem. Congratulations! It's an awesome community. I followed you. Please follow back. Good Luck.82dac99-285x300 (1).jpg

Yes, I went through the same - after going through the initial sign-up (and almost abandoning it because of the phone number with SMS requirement) I heard nothing for over 4 days. By then my intended initial post was stale and much of the excitement was gone so it was starting from scratch anew. This has so much potential if just a handful if issues can be worked out. I wish the best for it and hope it doesn't collapse on its own.

Thanks for your comment and sharing your experience @ivars. From your comment, this is my understanding that during the signup process, you received only sms code (No email verification). Then, after 4 days you received email from steemit to inform you that your account is approved. Please let me know, if I got it right.

My friends and family members, whom I introduced to Steemit and still waiting for approval after couple of weeks without any email confirmation or verification from steemit.

First they sent me an email with a link I had to click to verify, then I had to give them a phone number and they sent me an sms to my phone with a code I had to enter on a web page, then they said they would send me an email when I was approved. It was that last approval that took 4 days. It was more involved, cumbersome, and time consuming than setting up access to my bank account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65