Introductions are in order...

Hello!

For my first foray into the Steemit platform, I'd like to take a moment to introduce myself to you all so you have a bit of background into who I am, and how I found my way into the world of cryptocurrency.

I've been a technologist for most of my forty plus years on this rock we call home, and had the fortune (immediately followed by misfortune) of being in the information technology field when the Internet boom came and went. I worked for many companies that, at the time, were at the top of their game including Sun Microsystems, Compaq (now part of HP), IBM, etc., which allowed me to move around the country from Atlanta, to San Francisco, and finally to Tampa. When I was living in Tampa, I realized that working in systems and network admin was not moving me up the ladder at a fast enough pace, so I decided a career change was in order. So I decided to become a lawyer, sold my houses, packed up the dog, and moved to Washington, D.C. where I spent three years earning my Juris Doctor from the George Washington University Law School.

I graduated a few years ago, and began preparing for the Bar exam here in North Carolina, where I currently practice. While I was studying for the exam, I realized I needed to figure out a way to bring in some income, but still be free to study most of every day. As you can imagine, the list of jobs that fit that description was extremely short.

At the same time as I was trying to figure this out, a technology called Bitcoin, which I had been interested in several years before but had forgotten about, was gaining traction in the news and interest from the investor class. That's when the light bulb went off... I realized that the opportunity I had been searching for was right in front of my face. So I started trading crypto as a way to keep afloat while studying for my exam. That was two years ago now, and I've been trading cryptocurrencies ever since.

Over the past year, we've seen exponential growth in development around this emerging field of technology, and, as with any emerging field, there's enough disinformation and misinformation circulating around to make your head spin. So I decided to start creating some content in the hopes that I can make a small contribution toward cutting through the b.s. that we all end up wading through while trying to take advantage of this once in a lifetime opportunity that has the revolutionary promise to shift the balance of power from the bourgeoisie back to the proletariat where it belongs.

I hope you enjoy the content that I will be adding in the coming weeks and months, and I look forward to what I'm quite certain will be very spirited debates and discussions.

Warmest regards,
T.J.

Sort:  

welcome to the steemit platform

Hello tenaciousj! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Hello @tenaciousj! Welcome to the community!!!

Hello, tenaciousj! Best wishes for a very inspired experience here in this awesome community :) Enjoy!!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Hey T.J. Great post I too am going to write a post introducing myself. Keep going on the steemit platform. It looks like it's a great place to learn as well as offer your own expertise

Thanks Beth, so far so good =)

Lovely story! Welcome to Steem!

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to Steemit!

If you want to build community and find supportive people who will help you grow your following check out the #MinnowSupportProject. @minnowsupport works to help people find their way around this platform through their website and radio station.

Another group which is very helpful is the @welcomewagon. They create content which can help you learn about different aspects of this site.

I use Stack editor to write my posts, it's useful to see the posts side by side and helps me to learn the markdown system.

I am glad you found your way here, and again welcome!

@tenaciousj, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Welcome to STEEM community

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69125.27
ETH 3788.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61