On life as a surfer, a climber... And a newsteemer

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

From the beginning

"We all come from the sea, but we are not all of the sea. Those of us who are, we children of the tides, must return to it again and again, until the day we don't come back leaving only that which was touched along the way."
-Frosty Hesson

IMG_1617.JPG
Last star, first light from one of Reunion Island's top

The name is Théo, the place I was born is Reunion Island. I learned to surf when I was about 4 years old: my dad put me on his board and I loved it ever since. I had the chance to go in Bali and South Africa when I was about 10, surfed there too. I've been to Indonesia, VietNam, Thaïland, Malaysia before I was 20, looking for good food, good waves and good people, met the three. I've been to California, worked there, surfed there... And then I was back to France, graduated in environmental engineering in 2017, tried to spend a couple weekends surfing of course.

And I also learned to climb. I've been climbing in Reunion Island mostly, but also in Thaïland and in the south of France. My father teached me some knots, some techniques and I learn the rest by training with some friends. I'm also into skiing in the Alps, did my share hiking a bit of everywhere, kitesurfing with the wind...

Bref, I've had a good life so far. Enjoyed a lot, been crying a little, tried to figure out some meanings and shared as much as I could. Are there any fellow Reunion Islanders on Steemit yet ?

My way of life

“Life is far too important a thing ever to talk seriously about.”
-Oscar Wilde

Now you may assume two things about me : I love quotes, and I love surfing.

vlcsnap-2018-01-09-19h39m00s927.png
loving it so much I'd forget how to breath

I do love surfing, I love the feeling when you catch the wave and instantly forget about everything. Nothing matters when surfing, the present finally makes sense. Same thing occurs when climbing.

When I'm stressed, angry, lost, or sad, I immediatly think about my life's best surf session in Lomgbok (or is it Lombok ?). I picture the ocean, the beach, the boats, and the waves I caught and I manage to feel better. That day in Desert Point, I wasn't seeking for waves but it turned out I had more than bargained for.

That day, Life taught me it has a way to give you what you need rather than what you want.

C'est la vie ! Hopefully, this is the last time I'll speak seriously about Life. I do prefer the funny way. Since I'm now done presenting myself (and I do expect some feedback), let us present what is this Newsteemer doing here !

Come for the money, Stay for the community

I read that somewhere
-Myke Tyson

Obviously I heard about Steemit through Blockchain and Crypto news. In fact, I was looking for a way to finance my own World Tour featuring the best (surf)spots in the world and crypto-investments seemed to be a way to do so. As it turned out, I'm about to take a job, a small flat coming next and probably a cat (I always thought I was a dog person).

I think that's great for now, as long as I can easily leave when I feel the need to. And I have a lot of friends around me, some girls I'd love to fall for and plenty of time to find more meanings.

P1010869.JPG
Ain't that some cat, and she rolls with me now

What I do want to do here is sharing. I'd like to share some good pictures, some good music, some good quotes. I'd like to help if needs be, to make one laugh. I'm not into Instagram but Steemit and blockchains have a purpose I agree with. I hope I'll find a place in this community, and I'm already liking what I see. I'll keep y'all posted if I suddenly feel the need to meet you in person.

IMG_0151.JPG
I wish the best for Steemit, it's community and a good one from my Wave Bureau !

Sort:  

Théo,

Welcome to SteemIt!!

You are now part of a special community of people forging a cutting-edge social media platform on the STEEM blockchain.

I am @etcmike and have been part of this community since August 2016. If you have any questions about SteemIt, please feel free to ask me and I will do my best to answer your questions.

I enjoy helping to promote the SteemIt community engagement on SteemIt by upvoting those who comment on my posts. I published my guide for up voting that I follow several months ago (please do not up vote it since it is past its payout period), you may find it useful.
Upvoting For the Mutual Benefit of Patrons, Commentors, and Others While Promoting More Engagement

Here are a few tools that will likely help you on SteemIt:

https://steemd.com/@the-wave-bureau -- This tools monitors your blockchain activity and helps you keep an eye on your voting power

https://www.steemnow.com/ -- This tool gives you a different view of you blockchain activity as well as monitors rewards on you posts

SteemIt is what you make of it! I urge you to be persistent and build your following, then before long you find your success!

Have a great week!
Steem on,
Mike

Hi Mike, thanks for the links, learning a lot reading them !

Great introduction how is it going? Welcome to steemit =)
Keep it up and wish you all the luck.

Thanks ! Happy to be part of something big, I love meeting new people :D

КОМУ ТО МОЖЕТ ПОЛЕЗНО ПОЧИТАТЬ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
https://steemit.com/money/@koles35rus/u-kogo-est-aifon-prochitai-tebe-polezno-znat
https://steemit.com/entertainment/@koles35rus/top-igr-2017-na-android-i-ios-s-khoroshei-grafikoi
ГОЛОСУЕМ НЕ СТЕСНЯЕМСЯ , это не так уж и сложно , комментируем!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Всем ДОБРА и СЧАСТЬЯ!!!!!

I love the part you wrote..came for the money stayed for the community!

hello , welcome on steemit , great picture of you surfing,waiting for your next post

Hi, thanks !
I'm reading your tips, seems I have a lot to learn. Cheers

We return from Bahrama to the sea of worries

The @OriginalWorks bot has upvoted and checked this post!
Some similarity seems to be present here:
http://www.boatfishing.co.za/viewtopic.php?f=56&t=976
This is an early BETA version. If you cited this source, then ignore this message! Reply if you feel this is an error.

Hello et bienvenue !
Je suis le bot de @roxane spécialement créé pour t'accueillir car je ne savais plus trop où donner de la tête avec tous les nouveaux Steemiens francophones qui arrivent chaque jour !
Je m'excuse de ne pas pouvoir t'accueillir personnellement mais j'espère qu'on aura très prochainement l'occasion de se rencotnrer !
En attendant, je t'ai préparé une série d'articles et de vidéos pour t'aider à mieux Comprendre-Steem (il y a même un guide à télécharger avec tout tout tout ce que tu dois absolument savoir pour débuter!). Tu peux aussi consulter mon profil :-)
N'hésite pas à me contacter si tu as des questions sur le fonctionnement de Steem !
A bientôt !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65122.70
ETH 2948.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66