Introducing Myself to the Steemit Community!

Hello Steem world!
My name is Matt/TheFreshPrince and I live 2 lives...

During the daytime, I work as a high school Chaplain and Science Teacher. I thoroughly enjoy my job as I believe that it is a huge privilege to work in an environment that helps the young people that will shape our future! I am particularly passionate about the social-emotional wellbeing of students, as high school can be a really tough time for many of them

I work at an amazing school where many of my co-workers have become my good friends. All of them are very supportive of my work as the Chaplain and this is super encouraging to me also.
I have 1 x beautiful wife named Anzelle and 1 x furry child named Tigger.

I have many hobbies but over the years my biggest project and downtime has been spent in online gaming. I first started gaming with my Dad at a very young age, mostly first person shooters where we would duel as 10 year old vs 30 year old – usually a very close match up.
As I grew older the games that I enjoy have changed many times but the ones which I play at the moment are; Dota2 and Player Unknown’s Battle Grounds.

At the beginning of this year I decided that I would like to be more productive with my gaming time (after all it takes up countless hours of my life). I wanted something tangible to show for the hours that I have put in and I also wanted to somehow use my gaming time to help people.

So I decided to start live streaming my online gaming for charity donations!

My online gamer tag is; TheFreshPrince and I stream from 10pm – 2am every weeknight. Why so late if I have a day job you may ask? Because my wife is sleeping during that time (most of the people I know are) and I would not like my gaming time to further cut into our time together.

I have a few loyal followers from around the world and since starting my channel roughly 3 months ago, raised close to $600.00 for charity (enough to buy 4 toilets, 2 goats and 10 chickens for a community in Zambia)!

The generousity of the online community is astounding to me and I am encouraged every day to meet people with the same goals and interests as myself. I don’t mind if I raise $1 or $1million over the next few years because I enjoy what I am doing and love working with my community to make our dreams become a reality.

So that’s me guys, I am an esports enthusiast/chaplain who is passionate and commited to helping with the wealth divide within our world and I believe all of this can be done through the power of online gaming!

Check out my twitch.tv channel: twitch.tv/thefreshprincegamingtv

Follow me here on steemit or twitter: @thefreshpgaming for more information and to see some of my content.

TheFreshPrince/Matt
:)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit, Matt. You have a beautiful family. Your furry kid is cute. ;) Would love to hear more about your gaming.
I have a few loyal followers from around the world and since starting my channel roughly 3 months ago, raised close to $600.00 for charity (enough to buy 4 toilets, 2 goats and 10 chickens for a community in Zambia)!
That's a good thing that you are doing, keep it up! Steem On!

Thanks for your encouragement mate, it means a lot to me :)

You are welcome. Have fun Steeming. :)

Hey, Prince, I bet you're enjoying your two lives. Welcome to your third life - Steemit!! ;)

Welcome :)!

sup.gif

Here a few tips for starters snce you probably won't get any advice from those who comment under here, here's what I gathered thus far.
It's tough to make money at first so if that's your main cause to be on here grind that into your head straight away, that doesn't mean you shouldn't post content, you should, but enganging with others in the comment sections to grow your following is your best bet. Which categories?

Probably the introduce yourself one and the photography section but you can choose things that you have knowledge about too and then go from there just know that there is a lot of crap on here so plowing through that just to connect with others can be tough. Cheers.

thanks heaps mate :)

Welcome to the community dude. Thank you for sharing this with us. I have recently made a post to keep our community connected would you mind checking it out and getting involved.

sounds great, will do!

Congratulations @thefreshpgaming! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi! Your post has been selected by @NanoCheeZe to be upvoted by @XTDevelopment ... Don't forget to check us out - NanoCheeZe.com

Nice! I saw that you are new on steemit so welcome to the great community of steemit. Hope this upvote helps and we're all waiting to hear more from you!
I know how hard it is as a fresh account so my advice would be to give @MinnowPowerUp a go as you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I compiled this post to explain the system in more depth and share my own experience in earning wupvotes for over $1 a day.

Thanks mate, I really appreciate the encouragement! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60