El Chapo trial- Former cartel member says El Chapo tried to kill him in prison

IMG_5389.JPGImage source- Twitter

Cross-examination began for the prosecution's second star witness, Miguel Martinez, in week 3 of the El Chapo trial. Martinez told the jury Joaquin "El Chapo" Guzman ordered four hits on him in prison.

Miguel Angel "El Gordo" Martinez was extradited to the United States in 2001 and was subpoenaed to testify at Guzman's federal trial in Brooklyn.

The terms of his witness protection program affording him a new identity in the United States require him to cooperate with the government.

Martinez claimed that he fought "tooth and nail" against his extradition and that while he insists he never once betrayed his former friend, the paranoid Guzman ordered hits on his life.

"I never mentioned Mr Guzman, I never failed him, I never stole from him, I never betrayed him, I took care of all his family and the only thing I got from him is four attacks against me," he told jurors.

Martinez worked for Guzman in the Sinaloa cartel as a drugs big-wig in Mexico City, earning at least $3 million and in the process becoming so addicted to the class A drug that his nose had to be repaired.

He said "Out of the four attempts on my life, the first three were knifings. In the third attempt, I was stabbed in the face six times."

After his extradition, he pleaded guilty and began cooperating with the government in exchange for a new identity for himself and his family, and in the hope of reducing his initial 18-year sentence.

What do you think El Chapo's fate would be. Would he rot in prison or will he escape another time? Let me know in the comment section

Ps- All articles are written by me and I don't believe in stealing articles. All my articles are open to criticism in to comment section. I'm new here therefore I'm still gonna be using the introduceyourself tag for sometime.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68