Allow me to re-introduce myself

Hello steemit community,

I'd like to introduce myself again, because @sco was gracious enough to give some good advice to a fellow science enthusiast. He just curated an intersting article on urban mycology - check it out - https://steemit.com/business/@sco/meet-the-viennese-eco-startup-growing-edible-mushrooms-on-coffee-grounds-english-german

I first heard about bitcoin in 2012, and downloaded my first coin wallet. Unfortunately, I put nothing in the wallet, and here we are today. I knew block chain technology was revolutionary, but I also knew that there would be many hurdles to overcome before the mainstream would adopt a new financial system. Now, the popularity of coinbase, in addition to recognition of bitcoin from wall street has convinced me that the world is ready for a change in the way we do commerce. The fiat currency system is rigged, the middle class is shrinking, and the wealth disparity between the rich and the poor is growing. I am not particularly a man of faith, but I have high hopes to end despotism with decentralized currency.

I am currently writing my PhD dissertation in structural biochemistry. I am the bearded gentleman in pic above. I am trained in protein crystallography and I have strong background in evolutionary biology as well as cancer biology. I've been looking forward to starting a blog, but never got around to doing so because of the barriers to entry (followers and time). I feel like being early to the steemit network is a great opportunity to share some of my expertise, and discuss controversial topics in science.

I look forward to getting to know more like minded people in this community.

Sincerely,
-The Scientist

Sort:  

re-welcome!!

This is a good idea, as a fellow science student (bioengineering), I would love to read more about/from you.

Mr. Scientist Welcome to steemit...:) Thank you for your research..as both my parents had cancer...one dying to the fck'd disease..power and strength to you!

I'm sorry to hear that. I'll make sure to report on the newest developments in cancer research

Great to see people from all aspects of life joining and being able to add knowledge from so many fields and aspects of life. Hope you help cure cancer

Congratulations @thescientist! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

heyhey, welcome again ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62352.72
ETH 2953.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62