First Post

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180115_234252_680.jpg

Hello Steemit!

My name is Tim Molloy and I am an artist based in Melbourne, Australia.
I live there with my wife Ange, son Louis and two cats named Parker Lewis and Iain M. Banks.

2018-03-30 14.37.36.jpg

I make comics, paintings, sometimes sculpt and I'm currently trying to make the shift into children's book illustration.

00000000000000_b_2.jpg

My work is an ever expanding and interconnected web of dreamlike and nightmarish storylines soaked heavily in delusion, confusion and a general sense of unease. I draw heavily on surrealist techniques, symbolist ideas, synchronicity and dreams to construct my stories. Recurring themes include (but are not exclusive to) death, rebirth, the nature and expansion of consciousness, self-destruction and discovery… There is a kind of pre- apocalyptic tension throughout, balanced (I hope) with a sense of humor that stops it all from getting too serious.

https://www.timmolloy.com

redcat_027_col-sm.jpg

My most 'famous' creation is Mr Unpronounceable; A homeless, delusional Necromancer who wanders through three volumes of comics published by Milk Shadow Books here in Melbourne.

http://www.milkshadowbooks.com/2013/?s=Tim%20Molloy

https://boingboing.net/2013/03/30/mr-unpronounceable-adventu.html

infinity01.jpg

Before Milk Shadow took me on board, I self published a long series of strange comics, going all the way back to my High School Days in Auckland, NZ.

b[1].jpg

Recently, I have been concentrating on traditional watercolours and had a successful solo exhibition called 'Strange Parades' at the Beinart Gallery.

https://beinart.org/tim-molloy-strange-parades-solo-show/

k[1].jpg

d[1].jpg

When I'm not pursuing my own artistic interests, I am usually working on some kind of freelance illustration job or another...
fin_small.jpg

scott021.jpg

TEST08_ART.jpg

Or playing with my band Plague Doctor.
18196066_10156059342202195_645003958_o.jpg

I suppose that is all for now! I look forward to engaging with this new community and posting lots of pictures for y'all!
Cheers!

Sort:  

Hi, timmolloy! I wish you a great journey here in this culturally diversified yet mostly unified community :) Have fun!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Hey dear
Welcome to steemit
You can join this discord channel to be taught how to go about steemit and learn business,poetry,art,crypto and get motivated,taught how to make good posts and comment...Meet over 6k+ members and get to make friends from steemit all over the world including where you're from--> click link
https://discord.gg/dKsHwVz
Join the steemschool on discord channel today

Great to see your strange and whimsical creations here on Steemit, I'm looking forward to seeing more of your wonderful art in my post feed.

Thanks so much, I'm glad you enjoy!

Hello! Welcome I invite you to our discord chat. Together we help each other get to the top of steemit. https://discord.gg/JbGbP8D

Welcome to Steemit @timmolloy :)

Welcome, fellow Australian. I'm new to steemit too and I like it so far. One of my daughters lives in Melbourne and the other in Brisbane while my husband and I enjoy the lifestyle up north in the tropics. You are obviously a colourful character so I have no doubt you will have lots of fun here on steemit. Cheers, Yvonne

Thanks Yvonne!

I really love this work! May I use your fish-man as a profile picture on Facebook for a while - with attribution of course? It rather matches the mood of our wet New England spring.

Please be my guest!

Thanks! I linked to your website and your steemit page.

The fish man is actually from an album cover I did for an Australian band called The Peep Tempel, thought you should know!

That's cool! I live in New England near the ocean, so the Innsmouth/Lovecraft vibe is perfect for here.

I'd LOVE to visit New England one day.

These must take forever, they are really fantastic. Excited to have you on my feed, I'll be broadcasting you often!

They do! But it keeps me out of trouble! I'm glad you dig!

I promise I am not ignoring your art (I really like the purple one) but -

You have a cat named Iain M. Banks? That's seriously daring.

Are you sure it's a cat?

Have you checked recently?

Maybe you'd like to check again.

Haha, the writer died the day we got him. We just call him Banks. He's an idiot actually.

Love your art, glad you joined Steemit too! :D

Upvote and follow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97