Introducing Theo-Cracy: a former lawyer, founder of Theo-Cracy and current "pantless" writer from Greece

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

 Hello everyone, 

Finally, I am going to introduce myself properly. First off, I am totally new to steemit. Four days old to be precise. 

I must confess that after a bright decade of relentless video gaming, comic book reading, watching sci-fi films, and studying the law (I miraculously graduated!!!) I discovered that there’s a way to make a living without wearing pants, so I abandoned the law and pursued a freelance writing career. Why do you think I am hiding the lower part of my body behind a wall in this photo?

 Hello!!!! My pants are missing (again) ;) 

 

In all seriousness though, it was the financial crisis in Greece that forced me to abandon my law career. Keep in mind, however, that I never loved my job as a lawyer. To begin with, I studied law just to make my parents happy and proud, because you see, according to the modern Greek family's beliefs,  a kid is only successful when he/she becomes a doctor or a lawyer. This is also one of the main reasons the economy of this country has failed miserably. But that's a conversation we will analyze in another post. Regardless, I will always be thankful for studying law and working as a lawyer for a few years, simply because I took this one photo for my Law ID that makes me look like your typical film serial killer in disguise. 

As you see, I am not lying ;) 

Since 2013 that I changed careers (at the not so young age of 32), I've worked as a staff writer and researcher for Today I Found Out, List25, Ranker and Ancient Origins (currently). I have also contributed to various online sites including Ars Technica, Gizmodo, OZY, Paste, Listverse, Mental Floss and others. 

Personal Artwork Including All the Print and Online Media I've Written For 

What is Theo-Cracy?

In order to collect all my work in one place, I founded Theo-Cracy, which you can visit by clicking on it.  As most of you know, the word theocracy means a nation ruled by God. However, in my blog there’s no deity — there’s only a hopelessly charming man (I love The Smiths) who hopes to inspire and be inspired. This Theo-Cracy is a nation run by me, Theo. No rules whatsoever, just good will and positive energy :)

Staring at the World Through my Rearview  

So...Why Steemit? 

I am truly happy to be on this platform and I want to thank my mate @phortun who introduced me to this awesome "planet." I saw the difference between Steemit and any other social media from the very first moment. This place is filled with writers, designers, photographers and inspired creators of any kind, who are willing to support each other selflessly (or almost selflessly). Additionally, unlike the websites I am writing for, steemit allows you to write straight from your heart, without worrying too much about grammar and editing (especially when your first or even second language is not English). Steemit is a diary that you pretty much share with everybody, really! 

 To make a long story short, I specialize in researching and writing articles about history, culture, entertainment (films, comics, video games, TV-shows, sports and music), and everything related to geek culture. So, please follow me and I promise to enlighten you all about farting cows that set on fire the roof of their farm, frogs that behave like superheroes, and historical mysteries that remain unsolved to this day. 

 Thanks for the attention :)

Cheers,

Theo 


Images (5)

Sort:  

Welcome great one,with you here steemit is going to be fun ...nice post

Thanks, mate :)

You sound like a talented content creator. Steemit is lucky to have you here. Καλως ηρθες

Ohhhh, I am blushing right now, but sincerely thank you very much for the kind words :)
Καλώς σας βρήκα και Καλή Χρονιά να έχουμε :)

I wish you well in your journey here!

Thank you very much Kyusho. I have a vision. Hopefully it all works out greatly :)

Nice to see you here @tkappa! Will be happy to follow and read your blog.
Already visited your blog, great stuff you got :)
Καλώς ήλθες!

Thank you very much Katerina. Καλώς σας βρήκα! :)

Happy to be that guy who got you here :) And nice intro btw! ;) Told you many times already but I have to say it again: Good luck on Steemit my friend! I am 100% positive you are up for some great things here :)

Thanks Petr and thank you for introducing me to steemit. Well, it won't be easy as I start with 0 support pretty much, but I will try my best ;)

We have met already. I enjoyed your intro post very much. Now English rules the world more or less and we have to put effort to master that beautiful strange language. Luckily all other languages even Esperanto and completely made up languages https://steemit.com/extraterrestrials/@johano/extraterrestrials-on-steemit-platform are welcome here.
Enjoy your journey. Steem on!

Thank you brother. Interesting topic. So I take it you loved the X-Files TV show, huh? ;)

I have to admit that I survived till now without TV. I know I am a rare species nowadays.
Other topic, let's talk about Greek music:
https://steemit.com/esperanto/@johano/gratulon-mikis-theodorakis

I wish you best of luck brother, I know you've been working too hard and I am confident that you will get what you deserve ;)

Thanks sis....I don't know if I will ever get what I deserve but I may die trying ;)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @tkappa to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

hello hello welcome to the steemit community, is never too old to start new financial alternatives. I wish you the best.
do not forget to follow me
I invite you to read my post I know that you would like to share with friend and family
give me up vote and comment.
together we can help each other

Thanks, mate. I will follow :)

my good friend I invite you to read my post I know you like it, also share with friends and family. please give me up vote and comment. remember together we can help each other
regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48