Hello from Japan + Self Intro

*American born and raised in Japan
*Translator + professional poker player
*Transitioning to crypto hodling

asdf.JPG

Wondering why I'm wearing a mask? Well, in Japan it's dope to wear masks. As you can see, I am fucking dope.

(Actually, my lips have been getting really dry these days and I don't have any lip balm, so I'm testing it as a moisture retainer.)

Heard about Bitcoin 4 years ago, actually started studying its underlying technology 3 months ago, and am now putting my money that was uselessly sitting in a bank to work. Am also studying investing as it is a field that I've never put any thought into.

It's ridiculous how much there is to learn in this space, and yet it's incredibly exciting.

Initially put some money in BTC, saw it go up some, put some more in BTC, saw it go up again, put a bunch in Cardano, saw it quadruple, and finally put a bunch more in a few other cryptos. Today was the first day I saw significant drops in value all across the board in my portfolio.

In poker, I had a clear game plan so upswings/downswings didn't affect me as much. In crypto, I'm still learning every day so my strategy is continually being adjusted. Poker has prepared me somewhat for variance and hodling still feels easy at this stage, but throughout this ride I've witnessed psychological biases creep up in me, and that's been a bit scary. Awareness of the propensity of humans to certain kinds of systematic error doesn't necessarily mean avoidance of them.

Most importantly, though, I love where blockchain (and more recently, DAG) technology is taking us. Decentralization, privacy, efficiency, removal of intermediaries, proper incentive structures. The potential applications never cease to amaze me, and Steemit is one such application.

Thanks for reading, and looking forward to evolving with this community :)

Sort:  

Hello, welcome to Steem! I love poker too

Welcome to Steem @tobakudan. Feel free to follow me @kanasite and upvote. Cheers :)

Thanks, will check it out :)

Welcome to Steemit, @tobakudan! Lookin' pretty "dope", there!

WELCOME.png
Hello and welcome to steemit. Take a look around and read some tutorials to get you started. Don't forget to ask others for help. Most of all, Have a great time!

Yeah I noticed on the welcome page that there's tons of content for getting started, will work my way through that stuff. Thanks!

welcome @tobakudan ! Nice Post ! Please upvote & keep following

Congratulations @tobakudan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @tobakudan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @tobakudan! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @tobakudan! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67646.55
ETH 3796.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52