The Roads of Life and what brought me to Steemit

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

It’s amazing where the roads of life often times leads us. I found the Steemit community in an interesting way. Here’s what brought me here. Let me share my story...

...I tend to do my due diligence and research, and such was the case with Steemit. I’ve read many of your posts, even without having an account. 

But now... I’m ready to jump right in!

How I first heard about Steemit


I first heard about Steemit from... @jerrybanfield on YouTube. I was looking for videos on how to create an online course on Udemy. He was sharing his story about how they banned him and shutdown his account, and how that there’re Life After Udemy.

I find Jerry to be extremely knowledgable, a great teacher, and… yes, he’s got some totally cool music too! 

Thank you Jerry, for inviting me to join Steemit. Also, @joeparys was the second person I found on YouTube who shared his passion for Steemit, and has an amazing online presence as well. I continue to learn alot from these guys.

A Little About Me…

Islands, coconuts, and eating a... horse?

I am an ordained Pastor, and have always had a heart for people. 

In 1994,  as a young 24 year old, I was ordained and the moved to the Kingdom Nation of Tonga, located in the South Pacific (near Fiji and Samoa), where I pastored my first church.  

Quick little story. 

On one particular occasion there in Tonga, I attended a funeral and the people put a plate right in front of me and asked me to eat. As I did, they all seemed to look at me with a certain curiosity, but I didn’t know why. Then one them leaned over to me and said (in their language), “Is it yummy?”  

I said, “Yeah, it’s good, but it's a little… a... chewy.”  Then they all started laughing at me. (This occasionally still happens to me every now and then, lol). Then they finally told me I was eating a... “horse”. 

I had one of those surprised (yet, awkward smiles) where you don’t know what to do next. 

Horse? Yeah. I know. Sad and… yuck. (disclaimer: *This isn’t common in Tonga, but sometimes when it’s a poor family, and a horse is old, they will actually use it to feed the people at a funeral*).

I also married there in Tonga, and have one son, who is now 20 years old.

Rockin’ & Rollin' in Seattle


I have been in many bands while growing up in Seattle (ever since the “grunge” days). But until recently I never got the chance to be a lead singer, I just played guitar. But when I came back from Tonga I wrote so many songs, and got a chance to launch my own band, Mona. We played at many of the clubs in downtown Seattle and recorded an EP as well. 

Here’s a little taste of the music I wrote...


Passion for Blogging and Moving to Thailand


During my time of pastoring on Maui, Hawaii... 

...I read an inspiring book…. (uhhh, actually it was an "audio book”, so I didn’t technically “read” it. Does that still count?). It’s very well-known book now, but when I got ahold of it, no one I knew had ever even heard of it. It’s called, The 4-Hour Work Week

Little did I know then (that 3 years later), I would actually be moving to Chiang Mai, Thailand to begin my entrepreneurial journey and to start my very first dropshipping store and experience some of the very things that Tim Ferriss talked about in his book.  I so fell in love with Thailand and the wonderful people there. I’ve lived there for 3 years, and although I’m living in Hawaii, I consider Thailand my home too. 

Love on the Rocks, ain’t no big surprise


Just being open and honest with you here on Steemit

 Since I’m becoming a part of this big family… even though I was a “Pastor", I was also in a rocky marriage. My wife frequently talked about us getting a divorce. I never used the “D” word. But, as she persisted, I guess it was just the straw that broke the camel’s back. 

After many years, I finally gave in and said, ok. This is one of the reasons why I ended up moving to Thailand and stepped out into my entrepreneurial journey. 

Sad to say, and strange as it seems... as of today (the day of writing the draft of this post) I had to sign the last papers than finalizes our divorce. 

All roads lead to steem

But I just choose to believe that, no matter what any one of us goes thru, all roads lead to steem. And what I mean by that is that we’re empowered during the darkest time of our lives to go forward with a new-found momentum! Together we are stronger. Somehow in my heart I really do feel a leading from above to be a part of this community.

I currently live in Honolulu, Hawaii. My son lives here too, AND he’s about to become a Father. But I told him...

“Don’t you dare call me ‘Grandpa’, 'cuz I for sure ain’t ready for that! Just call me ‘Pops’ or something.” 

Then we both laughed. In the midst of all that I’ve been through, I feel super blessed! 

A New Season and Time for a Change

I have a new project that I’m still getting up off the ground. 

It’s a website where I can take what I’ve been through, as well as what I’ve learned about, in doing online business, and I hope to help empower people’s lives. It’s called, The Change Nation. (www.thechangenation.com)  But instead of blogging over there, I feel like I want to be a part of the Steemit Community and blog over here, and interact with you all. 

How I came up with my Steemit username

Years ago I was an intern director on the island of Maui in Hawaii (where I lived for many years), training young people who were wanting to enter into the ministry. The programme was called, "Transformed". The name of it has since been changed, but I always loved that word, and it continues to inspire me to this day. When I checked the availability of @transformed, I was actually surprised to find that it was still available. 

"Transformed" has nothing to do with transformers cartoons or the movie or whatever. 

I’ve actually never even seen one of those movies. Haha! It’s just super cool to me, and easy to remember as well.

But to me, (the actual word ,"Transformed" means: a process of change, a metamorphosis, a transitioning of becoming something else— something greater.

Years ago I came up with my own personal motto that guides me too: 

"Make a difference in somebody’s life today!" 

Steemit provides the perfect opportunity to do exactly that. Whether it’s a post that encourages someone, or a DLive or DTube video that you post, or even a DSound audio clip or song— Steemit is the place where I want to empower people to dream bigger, and perhaps in some small way I can help them be transformed for whatever ever dreams are in their heart to pursue and accomplish.

I’m not here on Steemit to “make money”

I’ve always loved writing, making videos, and doing my best to impact lives. But when I had a blog on my last website, I… I wanted to interact with others, but there usually wasn't that many comments. Here on Steemit, the community totally rocks! 

It hasn't even been 24 hours of me being on Steemit yet, but I'm really enjoying reading posts, commenting on them, and giving them an upvote.

Thank you for welcoming me into the Steemit Family!

I’m sure I’ll be sharing more of my story in future posts and videos, but I wanted to thank you for taking to time to read my very first post on Steemit and allowing me to be real, AND vulnerable

I’m planning on being active in our Steemit Community everyday. I look forward to reading your posts and getting to know you more as well. If you’d like to also connect with me further. You can also find me on these platforms, but I (perhaps like you) are looking forward to moving away from ad-infested environments and are excited to be a part of building this new platform called, Steemit, here on this cutting-edge network called the Steem Blockchain:

You can also connect with me here:

Instagram @robbgorringe

Facebook @robbgorringe

Twitter @robbgorringe

www.thechangenation.com


Thank you Steemit family! The best is yet to come!

@transformed


Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @transformed!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Even if I'm thanking a Bot, I appreciate it!

Hey @transformed are you anywhere near the volcanic issues? Praying for everyone.

Great meeting you on the Steem Schools discord channel. Anybody who wants to take FREE LIVE classes on how to monetize on Steemit can join us here.

Thanks for your concern @jmlucien

// Sorry for the late reply. I'm going have to check my comments in busy.or (as steemit doesn't have notifications yet). My friends are ok there. But the Vog is making it's way to Oahu too, and some have a hard time breathing.

nice to connect on Discord!

Welcome to steemit @transformed. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

I checked out your links // Thx for the "Welcome" :-)

Greetings, transformed! Best wish to you for a very happy journey here in this awesome community : All the best

It really means alot that you'd take the time to wish me the best! You're right, it is an awesome community!

Hey, Pastor Robb...Welcome! It is very nice to have you here with us. If you have any questions please post them here and I will try to help, if I can. Good luck! I actually thought about moving to the Kingdom of Tonga once...

Thank you @mepatriot for welcoming me into the community. 'Loving it too! Yeah, you were going to move to Tonga? So cool! It really is a beautiful set of 700+ islands. Tongans are so sweet too. Following you too. Looking forward to your posts. Yes I do have a question.

I’m not sure why my photos show up here on Steemit, but when I go to Busy.org they aren't there? (I followed the advise of a Steemian & thought I was doing it right. He said to paste the photo/gif link & simply add .jpg or .gif accordingly). Thanks for your help, since i'm a newbie. 😉 https://busy.org/@transformed/the-roads-of-life-and-what-brought-me-to-steemit // Thx in advance for your help.

Busy.org feeds to Steemit, not the other way around. I've always just posted directly to Steemit, and so, unfortunately I can't tell you much about Busy. I know some say it is better to go through Busy, others say no. To me, it just seems like an extra step.

Yeah...a friend of mine was looking to move, and there were some families that were thinking about it. I guess I am just a bit paranoid about the verse in Revelations where it says every island will disappear...lol... That would be a horrible thing. I hope you have access to a helicopter or boat...lol...

Thx for the insight. Maybe I'll try posting on Busy and see if posting pix is easier there.

And... if you end up moving to Tonga, and I stay in Hawaii, we just might have to pray for the Rapture OR.... get really good at surfing. 😂

Yeah...I believe in the Second Coming, 100%....but not two of them. Oh, I misread...I thought you were in Tonga now? I have checked out Tonga pretty thoroughly on youtube, etc. Gorgeous place, and I know the king has a reputation of being reasonable and benevolent.

P.S. You may want to check the top story on my blog right now...could be pure balogna, but....

Yeah, I lived in Tonga from 1994-2000, and was sent to plant a church there. I also had the privilege to meet King Taufa’ahau Tupou IV. Talk about an amazing experience!

Yes, I'll check out your newest post. Have an awesome weekend my friend!

Thanks! Yeah...I had this "bunnychum" person downvote all pf my posts because I downvoted one of that person's "trending" posts that was only there because of phony bot upvotes. Unbelievable how some people think they can just cheat with impunity and then "punish" people who call them on it. Oh well...

I'm going to really think about whether I want to hang around much longer. The people who were first, in and got rich, are just using the rest of us to suck up money from.

I understand your motivation for being here is above & beyond mine...

Welcome to steemit @tranformed indeed you are transformed.. Great to know that you are a pastor and the more reason i would follow you now.. Am sold out to jesus and so glad whem i see fellow beleivers and more so here on steemit.. Love to read your contents about christ and more interesting story like that of the horse eating.. Traveling around the world exposes you to crazy traditions.. Would love to give you tips to help you grow here.

3.gif

Glad to hear Jesus has really empowered you to be sold out for Him! I may be "transformed", but I'm still a work in progress. 😉 I appreciate you taking the time to read my post. I'm sure we can learn from one another in different areas, but I sure am new to this platform, although I've been reading & learning about Steemit for quite a while now. Thx again!

Transformed Rob, I haven't been to Tonga, Thailand, like you, but was on a mission trip in Hawaii with The Salvation Army and was in Vietnam and am now near Seattle, I'm Oatmeal because I eat oatmeal, and love your photos, your life is interesting.

Hey Oatmeal, so cool you came to Hawaii! ...been to Vietnam too? Wow, I'm heading that way soon too. Seattle is my old stomping ground. Thx for taking the time to welcome me. Be blessed!

Welcome to the Steemit Community. Enjoy your stay :) Here is an Upvote.
follow us @wallstreethodl for great news and information on all things crypto!

Right on! Thanks for the "Welcome". And yes, i do plan in staying here! :-) Looking forward to your posts too.

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Right on // Thx so much // I also just voted for @curie.

Super! Thanks for your support.

Welcome to Steem, @transformed!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2351 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.12 : Rewards Tab.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62579.42
ETH 3010.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42