You Had Me At HellosteemCreated with Sketch.

After reading this, I hope you will feel a bit more up-close-and-personal with me. My name is Annika. I am a 24-year-old newly graduated, first-job, somewhat millennial (somewhat not). I was born in Northern South Africa, but have travelled my way down to Cape Town, and later Stellenbosch, which has been my home since 2012. I studied Humanities at the University Stellenbosch, and triple majored in Sociology, Social Anthropology, and German. This was followed by an Honours degree in Sociology in which my research dealt with policing the Homeless in Stellenbosch. I have to add that my research was a good indication that I tend to get a bit too involved in the business of others albeit for the right reasons.

image source

2017 proved to be a year of change, growth, and first jobs. I applied for a position at a distance learning institution in which I ended up doing three different jobs in the span of 4 months. I currently hold the position of Research and Development Analyst, which I thoroughly enjoy.

Today is the 6th of September and the compass of my journey is pointing east. I have resigned and this is my second week at home. My husband and I have bigger plans – plans literally the size of the world. We have been visiting Asia annually, and fell head-over-heels in love with the culture. Our next trip is on the 18th of September and we cannot wait to see what lies ahead.

image source

We have always been spontaneous - often to the extent of us not planning anything. We choose a place, the number of days or weeks we will spend there, and the rest is history. Over the course of the past few months, I learned that having no plan is the best plan, and that it is actually OK not to know what’s going to happen next. I have to admit, the Analyst within me does not like unpredictability as my job often requires knowing exactly what’s going to happen next. However, teaching myself that the unknown is not the enemy has been the greatest gift.

image source

Throughout the course of my blogging journey, I will introduce you to the places we go, the food we eat there, and the people we meet. I will also write about planning long vacations on a budget (and sticking to it).

I hope you will follow me wherever I go, and I will try my best to keep it as real and interesting as possible.


I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.
– Robert Frost
Sort:  

Congratulations for being a part of Steemit !! . We are looking forward for the Blogging success with you. Welcome Steemit ! Glad to see more people like you - here join the steemit! !!!
wish you best of luck !!! Now am Following your Blog .
I'm wrting post about Animals if you interested! D'nt Forget to Follow me.

@Animal-lovers

Welcome to Steem @travelingannika I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Congratulations @travelingannika! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

A new Steemian :-) hello @travelingannika I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Cannot wait to read about all your travels! Yayyy!!

Welcome to the Steem world.
Congrats on your first post baby.
The first of many.

Hello and welcome to Steemit! Your travels sound fascinating. I'm sure you're getting very excited for your upcoming trip! I love to travel but we've never taken a trip that wasn't at least mostly structured before we left home. I'll look forward to hearing more.

I look forward to share all my experiences with the community :)

Hi, @Travelingannika, Let me welcome you to Steemit. Hope you gonna have fun with our community. Feel free to follow me @rightuppercorner Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Welcome to Steemit. I think you will like it. There are plenty of people who love talking about cryptocurrencies, but lots of other interests too. Have fun

Another Saffa on Steemit! Welcome and good luck on your trip. My wife and I are planning on upping and leaving for China in about nine months time so we will be looking for tips!

That sounds very exciting! Will try my best to write about everything you need to know. Have only been to Hong Kong and I am planning on writing a blog about it soon

I'm looking forward to it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69390.09
ETH 3783.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83