Here is to the Half that will disappear… c’est la vie

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Imgur

I was alienated years ago, by about half the people I know, when I began a new education path into renewable energy.

It’s silly looking back, but it was terribly irritating at the time to be swept away and dismissed by so many friends and even some family members, who weren’t open minded enough to sit and discuss anything new. Instead, half of my association of friends, extended family, and businesspeople seemed to robotically parrot cliches and platitudes on why renewables were BAD and why I was in someway BAD for being involved with them.

Imgur

This mass rejection took it’s tole at times over the course, but it was a liberation of intense proportions in retrospect. My single greatest irritant, gripe, or SIN, revealed itself to me during this purge of what I thought to be well intentioned people, from my list of well intentioned peeps. This irritant, or SIN in my judgement, is one of the most despicable behaviors that I can think of, with the exception of malicious harm or murder; willful ignorance.

Willful ignorance is the complete disregard for something without close examination. It is done all the time because of prejudices and biases built into the individual. We as people in general will necessarily avoid or ignore ideas or behaviors that we aren’t in agreement with. This is easily understood. There is not enough time in the day for careful examination of every situation, so we sometimes, automatically reject without scrutiny, certain scenarios that we might have experienced before. The harm comes when an individual EXPECTS the world to pander to their prejudice; this is called coercion.

Imgur

I think in this digital age, many prejudices are about to start toppling. One of the biggest of these, in this domino line of prejudices, will be in Medicine. Western, Allopathic Medicine is due for an overhaul. Now more than ever.

THIS TIME, however, let's not let the IGNORANT stand in the way of HEALING.

~Quixotic Malcontent

Sort:  

Excellent post, what were their reasons for why renewable energies are bad? Seems as if they are being suppressed to a large extent, for obvious reasons..

I agree with "Suppression." After school, I became a Mad Scientist so I really never looked back on the reasons.
But in short, it was basic Cognitive Dissonance. People who had been programmed by the TV and their devotion to political parties. They were incredibly unintelligent arguments then (still are.) I've moved on to just doing rather than talking. I will try to get some posts going about alternatives soon.
Thank you my friend and Steem On!
I will follow and keep an eye out for YOUR posts in the future.
Imgur

Cheers Tyroan & you're right, actions always speak louder than words.

Cognitive dissonance is the vilest of conditions. I have experienced it and learned to recognize it. I try to be understanding of others. Damn, it can be hard. I try very hard to keep an eye on myself such that I don't fall into that trap again. It can be a constant fight.

Excellent post! I pretty much relate to and/or agree with everything you said. I have had the majority of my friends alienate me years ago, for me when I got into coding. After several years of researching it I definitely agree that allopathic medicine is on it's way out for the most part. It's largely kind of a scam for drug companies to make profit.

I really like your writing.

I find myself alienating people all the time, though I feel I have gotten much better at keeping the conversation more "normal" while still trying to bring up new concepts. The only people that I can easily relate and talk to seems to be my wife and kids. People on the internet are good to "talk" with and that keeps me from feeling otherwise completely alone, but of course, it is not quite the same.

Welcome on board :) Or perhaps hello would be more appropriate as I just checked your join date XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67280.14
ETH 3764.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57