My Steemit experience - Day 2 - Introducing myself

My second day on Steemit and it's time to properly introduce myself!

I'm Martin, also known as uber-dragon or just dragon in some cases. I'm 25 years old and currently live in Frankfurt, Germany. This is me! (Please excuse the yellowish light)

 I'll get to the more interesting stuff in a bit but first off: Here are a few more things I've learned about Steem since my post yesterday:

  • I can format text using html and markdown! Let's me do lists like this one, woohoo!
  • I can upvote my own stuff...
  • ...but that's not cool so I only did it once to test it
  • People upvoting stuff are called curators and they have different voting power, based on their contribution to steem
  • The people keeping the block chain going are called witnesses and they're elected by the community
  • Instead of a 'proof of work' which bitcoin uses we have a 'proof of stake', it's kinda like an investment, but I need to learn more about that still
  • My post yesterday had some people reading it and even upvoting it! One person upvoting had a lot more voting power than I do, which boosted my posts value a lot! Thanks for that!
  • The steem blockchain get's a new block approximately every 3 seconds, so I'm assuming that's why it takes up to 3 seconds before the stuff I do takes effect (upvotes, etc)
  • If I got things right that means after those 3 seconds it's not really possible to completely undo an action, you can still edit it, but that's apparently more like putting a patch on something, the old thing isn't really gone (I think)

So yeah, I know a little more now about this place, I'll set myself the following goals for tomorrow:

  1. Setup my profile with a picture and stuff
  2. Find out for certain how stuff like DTube stores files (are they part of the chain or are they somewhere else?)
  3. Brainstorm some ideas what I want to do here

So now that we got this covered, I have plenty of time to tell you all more about myself. The things I like most are cartoons, video games and creativity. Let's get to them one by one.

Cartoons have never really lost me since I was a child, while others eventually get bored of them and move on I simply stuck around for way longer. I love animation and voice acting and if it wasn't so hard I'd get into that myself, instead I simply admire the character designs and the voice actors. Germany has a dubbing culture, so movies and tv series airing here have their audio re-recorded with German dialogue. I'm a fan of that! I know a lot of people would rather experience the originals, but I'm like: "Why not both?". So if I really like a show I'll watch it twice, once the original version (usually English) as well as the dubbed German version! If something originally from Germany makes it international I also enjoy seeing what the international version is like! My favorite cartoons are Rick and Morty, Detective Conan, My Little Pony, Futurama, Fairly OddParents, Spongebob, Southpark, Gravity Falls and Kim Possible. There are also a few other shows I enjoy which I'm currently watching, like BoJack Horseman, Steven Universe, Adventure Time and Bob's Burgers.

Video games have also been with me since I was a child. I think I've played my first video game at the age of four. Being mostly raised with Nintendo systems I've grown attached to their style and type of games more than with the games of other consoles, but I'm also playing a lot of games on PC, much like I used to play many of the old LucasArts Point and Click Adventures. Games I'm currently playing a lot are League of Legends, Rocket League, Paladins, GTA and a variety of smaller indie titles. My favorite characters from video games are without a doubt Kindred from League of Legends. I love their design and lore as well as their voices and how they play. I'm basically in love with this character.

(image source, 'Kindred - The eternal hunters' painted by Evan Monteiro for Riot Games)

Games I really should play but didn't have the time to play yet include: The Legend of Zelda - Breath of the Wild, Super Mario Odyssey, The Stanley Parable, Ori and the Blind Forest, A Hat in Time, Hotline Miami and many more. If I could recommend you just one single game it would be Ghost Trick, it has a pretty artstyle, very smooth animations, an amazing soundtrack and a story that is both incredibly interesting as well as very touching.

Coming to the last point: Creativity! (don't worry I'll make this one brief) I love creating things myself, even though I've become less and less confident in my ability to create anything of value. I paint digital paintings, I program cool stuff for fun and I'd love to be able to get into acting/voice acting or creating music. I mostly draw characters of the cartoon shows I like and my programming projects range from chat bots to custom game modes as well as tools for sandbox style games. I also love expressing myself through language, which is why I'm speaking decent English and German and I've recently started to learn Japanese as well.

And yeah, that's it I guess, I could keep rambling over so much more, but you're probably already bored if you even made it here. If you did, thanks a lot for reading, I'm hoping to meet a lot of cool people here to have fun and collaborate with!

See you tomorrow (hopefully)

Sort:  

Duuuuude! It took me weeks to learn most of the things you've got under control on your 2nd day... that's awesome! If you keep going at this rate you'll be running the entire Steem blockchain by the end of the week.

Super glad you're here, you seem super super interesting! Can't wait to see what you post tomorrow! Good luck on the platform!

Let's see if I can keep the pace up! Right now I wonder what each day here brings and my curiosity can keep me going easily. Thanks for the warm welcome!

Welcome! I like the breakdown of everything. Glad you're enjoying it here!

i can tell you are a very good person and will grow fast in there! ( and i don't recall to type that to anyone else :P). i also like cartoons but especially anime and i am that kind of person you mentioned that prefers the original voices :P but i can get the other side too!

Kindred is a cool champ, i used to play lol quite often but i dropped out due to the community... thank god i found this community! you will it's better than all the others out there.

Join the discord channel at the fresh5, if you have anything to ask me or anyone else just do it and the key to success is to interact with people!

Nice! Anime is really awesome, there's so much to see. Other than Detective Conan I've seen Dragonball Z and some of GT as well as Ranma 1/2, Yu-Gi-Oh and more recently Sword Art Online. I definitely still want to watch Death Note!

Thanks for taking the time to read and replying!

Hi Martin! Welcome to Steem! We're glad to have you here!

I am a Steem curator, and creator of the series "The Fresh 5" where I pick five new Steemians to share with my followers that they should know about. I have selected you as one of my five for today. Your post has been featured in my post you can find here: The Fresh 5.

I would encourage you to come over and visit my post and say hi in the comments to get to know some of the folks reading my daily digest. You are welcome to tell us more about yourself there and encourage my readers to come and check you out!

Have a great day! Looking forward to seeing more of you on the platform!!

Wow that's pretty awesome! Thanks a bunch! I'll head over there to get a conversation going right away. Sounds like a cool series you've got going there!

Perhaps I shouldn't confess this, but we usually don't pay much attention to introduction posts. But yours caught the old @catweasel's eye ... because he thinks he knows a sure thing when he sees it. Sooo, welcome to Steemit. We trust you will fulfill our high expectations -- in which case we may be back around often, visiting you a lot. Here's a first for our curation efforts -- the first time we've featured a first-timer. Wear it proudly!!

This excellent post was included in our new curation effort The Magnificent Seven -- a collaborative work by @enchantedspirit and @catweasel. You have received a 100% upvote from each of us to show our appreciation for your post. To see your creation showcased here ... and the fine company you keep ... please visit this link.

The Magnificent Seven

We appreciate your support both for our work on this project and for the other creators of exceptional content who make it all possible. (Follow @catweasel to catch our future Magnificent Seven posts. He's really not as annoying as you might think. <--- He always makes me say that.)

@uber-dragon,

This gem of a post was discovered by the @OCD Curator group!

Please Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency!

Welcome to the Steemit Community @uber-dragon, it is great to have you here with us! Please reply, and I will share your post to the @OCD curators for possible extra views to your introduction!

Sure, thanks a lot! I'll check it out as well.

Awesome glad to hear! You can also check out the @MinnowSupport Project, a community on Discord Chat where you can learn, chat, and network with over 7,000 other users! You can find MSP on DISCORD. We hope you will join us!

Welcome aboard I hope you enjoy this community and actively participate in it

For interesting posts about Music (videos), Travel, Technology and Aviation follow me @diogomen3 :)

banner coments.jpg

Welcome and good luck

Welcome aboard! I've read the Steemit whitepaper and still don't understand all the processes behind this money-printing machine, so sounds like you've already got a good grasp.

I'll have to check out Ghost Trick... although my backlog currently includes Breath of the Wild as well and I'm currently embroiled in Divinity Original Sin 2. I definitely recommend Ori, it's so lovely!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67