The Templars are back...kindasteemCreated with Sketch.

It feels like it’s been a long time coming, but I have to say I’m excited to finally be here. Like many new Steemians, after finishing off the sign up process I genuinely wondered whether that email was ever gonna come but after fifteen days of wondering if Steemit had mistaken me for a bot, or worse I’d misspelt my own email address, I finally got what I was waiting for. Knowing what I do now, I really wish I’d spent those fifteen days researching how this works, but I’ve never been one to plan everything. I appreciate the backlog to join is pretty long right now, so with that in mind, I’d like to start by saying cheers to @drakos and @timcliff and any other volunteers for all the work you do guiding newbies through the maze. It definitely helped me out, so your work is appreciated, brothers!

WHO AM I?

So in short, I write thriller novels, along with other books. Like a number of you guys, I was torn between signing up using my actual name or a username and in the end I kinda did both. Unknown Templar was actually the subtitle of my first book and unknown_templar subsequently became my Twitter handle. If you’re looking for verification this is me I'll be tweeting my posts: https://twitter.com/unknown_templar?lang=en. Most folks call me JPD.

18839281_753988771437733_1053979634685077653_n.jpg

WHY STEEMIT?

Well, like a lot of people who signed up here, I love the idea of embracing a new form of social media, especially one that thrives on ideas and meaningful experiences. I love Twitter, have a mixed relationship with Instagram but I’ve lost a lot of love for Facebook – sorry if that offends anyone! It’s nothing against Zuckerberg or his platform, my life just feels complete already without seeing daily pics of what my best mate ordered at Wetherspoons or hearing some guy I once met at an airport rant about Trump. They say variety is the spice of life and I prefer things to be unpredictable. The main reason I still have a FB account is for the kitten and puppy pics and rumour has it Steemit has even more of them!

So, as mentioned I am a writer. I’m also fascinated by crypto. Incredibly, in Steemit I’ve found something that amalgamates the two . . . what could possibly go wrong?! Writing is my passion and life’s work but I also love reading, so I’m looking forward to learning from the wisdom of others as much as posting myself and getting to know the Steemit Community. I honestly believe the original plan for social media was to share useful insights, discuss interests and make genuine connections with people you otherwise wouldn’t have ever got to meet rather than have your inbox spammed with DMs from some dude trying to sell you a bride! I can’t promise I’ll never plug my books on here, but if I do it’ll be because it’s connected to the subject of my blogs. Also, they’ll probably be a kitten picture to apologise!

WHAT CAN YOU EXPECT FROM ME?

History: All of my books are in some way history related. I’ve always had a keen interest in legends and mysteries, so this will probably be pretty common.

Philosophy: What writer doesn’t think of themselves as a philosopher, right?

Writing: I’ve been a published non-fiction author since 2009 and a thriller author since 2011. In 2012 my first thriller became a Top 20 UK bestseller and in 2016 I finally had a bestseller in the US. This doesn’t mean I’m an expert or even good, but I hope I’ll be able to bring some of my experience to this platform. Sadly the internet is plagued by 'success coachs' offering newbie writers the Holy Grail in exchange for signing up for their perfect course, despite the fact they’ve never even written anything themselves. Anything I do share will be what’s worked for me. Never forget to DYOR! That and to persist!

Travel: I am lucky to have visited some pretty cool places (all photos are either my own, or taken by whoever was with me and used with their permission) but there’s far more I’d love to see. Reading about people’s travels inspires me!

14976337_639336739569604_1706891402436680937_o.jpgIMG_2592.jpg
IMG_2313.jpg
IMG_8574.jpg

Crypto: Just kidding! I still don’t understand block chain and the price swings have been known to make me cry!

Life: I'll probably throw in a few surprises along the way. Also, if anything I share saves a few people from making the same mistakes I did, that’s also a bonus!

Thanks in advance for reading and for taking the time to get to know me. Comments et cetera are very much appreciated. Feel free to follow me on Twitter https://twitter.com/unknown_templar?lang=en and Instagram https://www.instagram.com/officiallyjpd/?hl=en. One thing you will see with every post is inspiration. Always remember, the best is yet to come!

Peace and Love, Brothers and Sisters!

Sort:  

Welcome. Looking forward to seeing your exclusive works for Steem. Good luck.

Thanks. You too!

Congratulations @unknowntemplar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!


Welcome to Steemit @unknowntemplar!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Thank you for your comments. Will follow back!

Hello @unknowntemplar, what an impressive intro! I saw your photo in @czechglobalhosts contest where was St. Peter's and Paul's cathedral from my hometown so i suppossed you are Czech. But no problem you aren't. Wishing you good luck and success here on Steemit!

Haha. Nah, just an Englishman with a developing interest in Bohemian culture. Cheers for the follow, Resteem and good wishes! Look forward to your posts!

Congratulations @unknowntemplar, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43