My First Post - Introducing Myself

I'm Happy to be on Steemit


Reference: https://pixabay.com/en/dyslexia-learning-disorder-puzzle-3014152/

I have been on Steemit for several weeks and recently have been busy with Steemmonsters writing. I’ve got several cards, including two legendary. I’m really looking forward to the game.

A little about myself. I have a type of autism called Dyspraxia. It is a movement disorder; some call it a developmental disorder. I’ve had this disorder since infancy. It was brought on by a severe form of spinal meningitis. Thankfully an Army doctor was able to prescribe a new antibiotic that was able to destroy the meningitis. I was just ten days old then according to my medical records.

At the age of three years, I entered special education for a learning disability and poor coordination. Dyspraxia was not a known medical condition at that time. I was teased about my inability to learn as others did, and teased about my slow movements. When others were focusing on the newest trends, I was concerned about learning. What many people still do not understand about the autism spectrum is that there are different levels of severity. I think differently and speak differently.

Some of the Dyspraxia symptoms I exhibit are:

  • Gross motor coordination skills (large movements)

  • Tendency to fall, trip, bump into things and people

  • Poorly established hand dominance

  • Talk continuously and repeat myself.

  • Uncontrolled speech pitch, volume and rate

  • Lack of awareness of body position in space and spatial relationships

I have many more symptoms of Dyspraxia but these are the major symptoms. See http://www.dyspraxiausa.org/ for more information on this disorder.

My Hobbies

Since childhood I've been a huge Star Trek fan. The characters and the storylines are very interesting to me.

John de Lancie as Q is always a mystery.


Graffiti impression of Spock

Star Trek images courtesy of https://pixabay.com

I also collect SF memorabilia. I should say too much memorabilia. I do have a wide range of interests, which is how I ended up on Steemit.

I am encouraged through Steemit to take a writer’s class and join a writer’s group. I’ll be writing posts about my experiences, and I'll be sure to tell everyone I meet about Steemit.

Live Long and Prosper


Courtesy of https://pixabay.com/en/alien-greeting-hello-long-life-1292972/

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To get more upvotes, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

You are welcome to steem..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66021.84
ETH 2981.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70