About myself

Hello Steemians, here I am, introducing myself.

I’m a technologist, a dreamer, a scientist, a creative individual, an environmentalist. The truth is … I haven’t decided yet what I am. So far, I’m sure I’m less than speckle of dust in the cosmic dance of stars and galaxies above our heads.

As far back as I can remember I’ve been obsessed with technology and sci-fi. I grew up playing with my commodore 16 and 64, wrote Basic code and read Asimov books… all of them! I liked science fiction so much that by the time I turned 18 I went to study rocket science at university (aerospace engineering). I really wanted to help humanity to take off and leave the planet for greener pastures. Alas, the only thing I left was the island I grew up on, many years later when I moved to London.

Even though I’ve always had a sensitivity towards our planet, a couple of years back I wouldn’t have defined myself as an environmentalist. Then I witnessed first hand the plastic pollution in our oceans and its implications.
During the same time I came across an amazing book: The China Study. The book changed my approach to food for health reasons and made me start studying the impact that industrial food production has on the planet.
I am now a “whole food plant based diet” follower (not Vegan), I’m trying my best to reduce plastic pollution. I drive an electric car. I bought LED light bulbs… some might say it’s a drop in the ocean, but we have to start somewhere. But most important of all, it gives me a sense of fulfilment.

I struggle to keep focusing on a single hobby or passion. They just keep coming.
I like to play the piano by ear, I love cooking, baking cakes and bread, gardening, 3D design, I’m definitely a wannabe architect, I adore taking pictures, travelling, DIY, scuba diving, swimming. I also tried oil painting once and I’m very bad at surfing…
The same is true for my love of tech. From Blockchain to Deep learning and quantum computing: I read about and experiment with the lot. I recently started playing with the raspberry pi and developed a little self driving rover (Elon forgive me, I’ve abused the term self-drive here, I should have said “there’s an Ultrasonic Distance Sensor and some if/else branches that prevent the car from bumping into a wall”).

I am addicted to learning.

So without further ado, why the username? Well, it’s due to my numerous hobbies and passions. Having so many makes it impossible to excel in all them and that’s frustrating.
So I decided that instead of keeping it all to myself and focusing on the imperfections, I will try my best to share what I learn, my experiences and sometimes my thoughts on Steemit. If you’re up for it, you could be my guiding spirit.

Thank you for reading
Wannabepolymath

Sort:  


Hi @wannabepolymath, welcome to Steemit! Once a week (or so) I select a post with the #introduceyourself tag and make a post about their introduction. IANS (introduce a new Steemian) is a initiative by @gmuxx and since I loved the idea, I continued doing so. It is hard enough to start here on Steemit, so I hope it will help you to generate a few more followers and first payout. The liquid Steem on the post I made will be transferred to you after payout and your post has been upvoted and resteemed by me. I hope to read more from you soon!
Here is the link to my post:
https://steemit.com/ians/@misslasvegas/introducing-a-new-steemian-please-welcome-wannabepolymath

Thank you misslasvegas!

You're welcome :)

Hey @wannabepolymath
Welcom to Steemit & have a nice day!
You can check @hoaithu 's blog to get upvote x2.5BID & Free for new steemians!

Hahahaha @wannabepolymath "So far, I’m sure I’m less than speckle of dust in the cosmic dance of stars and galaxies above our heads."

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome polymath wannabe 😉
To the Steemit platform, you are a steemian now. I am warm welcoming you as a new user. And you receive this message because you used the #introduceyourself tag!
I was welcomed with good advice to when I started so here i am. I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming right now but don't worry. After a few blog you will be the best blogger and contributor.
If you have any questions just ask your questions on any of my blog posts and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have!
I may know the answer. But very important I recommend you to never give up any off your passwords they are yours ! Please for safety tips read and visit the white paper.
To easy post use Partiko and to control your account use Steemify.
The Steemify App I use is great too, it is available in the Appstore and its Free.
Good Luck, Have fun and I wish you loads of success on here! :)
GREETZ from Holland
Britt

Thank you so much for all the tips.

This is one of the best ' introduceyourself ' post I have read so far.So I see you are a rocket scientist??I have been thinking to get a raspberry pi too.They are very cheap but can be very useful,as I have heard.

Cool, I'm thinking of getting one and take it with me wherever I need a computer, instead of a laptop. The only downside is you need a separate screen and keyboard, but I am using that anyway on a laptop (the keyboard that is)

There are mini-screen and mini keyboard available for Raspberry Pi.The best thing about Raspberry Pi is it's size,you can keep it in your pocket or purse.It is very cheap and you can do a lot of tasks in it such as programming,writing and browsing etc.

hello welcome to Steemit, We can't see your face though, next time upload a pic so that we can see you properly. :)
Nice to come across you on steemit. @babara20

hello welcome, I love your article because I also love the preservation of the environment. successes

Hello and a super warm welcome to Steemit. For me, the 2 best things about being a Steemian are sharing and automation. The sharing part is when you upvote someone else's post, you get a piece of the curation (money/crypto) from that post (and vice versa). The automation comes from using steemauto.com to auto upvote so you can literally make crypto (Steem) in your sleep.

For example, you can make a piece of the curation on my post from 3 days ago "Five Stars at The Emerald Cove" by upvoting it (The Sharing). The amount of money is shown on the post.

After signing in to steemauto.com using Steemconnect (a part of the Steem blockchain), come back and click here ""Stewsak Fanbase"" and follow to upvote and recieve a piece of the curation to all of my posts (the automation). Sharing is a beautiful thing and I would love to share the piece of the money/crypto with you on all of my post. I look forward to reading your post in the near future and if you have any questions, ask away :) Have an incredible weekend!

"Wishing you the best..."
@stewsak

Wellcome to the comunity @wannabepolymath. Nice to meet u. You have a wonderfull life, i'm sure..
I also newbie here. Have my upvote for first start. Let follow each other grow up together.

Hello @wannabepolymath welcome to the platform. Well explained introduced. Wish you a luck on platform.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29