Introducing myself to the Steemit Community | follow @westconnect for updates on pretty much any current, interesting topics :)

Baby Steps
Hi everyone or should I say Steemians (I hope I got that right :) ). This is my first post here and I thought I should start by introducing myself. I wouldn't want to bore anyone with a long, winding introductory post so I will try to keep it short and hopefully interesting for you guys. I am currently completing my Masters in Information Systems at Rhodes University in South Africa and my love for cryptocurrencies has been increasing on a daily basis. Here is a picture of myself in my campus office right now just trying to "Steem Ahead" like everyone else around here.

Steem ahead.jpg

How I got Here
It all happened by chance but I am very glad to be here and I cannot wait to see what this platform has in store for me. Like everyone who has been bit by the crypto bug, I was scrolling through tonnes of websites and reading a lot of white papers of new projects to find the next crypto gem. I got to learn that finding a good project is not a very easy task. Nevertheless, I eventually stumbled upon Steemit and everything about it just seemed right. As a university student without any form of income stream, the idea that I could churn out a lot of content and get financially rewarded for it seemed great to me so I decided to give it a go.

Final remarks and what to expect from me

Today is my second day after getting my Steemit account approved so as you can imagine, over the past few hours I have just been trying to learn everything I can about this community (am such an eager beaver right now lol). One thing that I have noticed, however, is how the community emphasizes having fun, being true to one's self and to not be solely driven by the financial incentives. As such, I think that is the motto that I am going to be living by and I hope I will be able to bring some value to the community.

In terms of what to expect from me, content wise, I love technology (well, I am a technology student so maybe I am biased lol) so expect me to write a lot of tech stuff; cryptocurrencies mostly, my new love. I however, do not mind going on a tangent sometimes and having a big fat discussion about anything that could be of interest to you guys, so yeah...I think I am that flexible. In that regard, please show some love to my account, and hit that follow button so that this newbie, eager beaver can gain a follower or two. I will also follow back and hear what you guys have to share as well.

That's all I have to say for now. Cheers Everyone and I hope you have a great day, or night...wherever you are. Happy Steeming!!!

Sort:  

Welcome to the platform. It was a good decision that you decided to join to this awesome platform.
I wish you the best! and hope to see you soon.

Thank you so much @hien-tran, I usually feel it in my guts when I make the right decision and this one feels right

Welcome to Steem :)

Thank you @kalita...I am happy to be here and I have followed you

Welcome to Steem @westconnect I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Congratulations @westconnect! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome here on Steemit. I hope you will enjoy your stay with us. Already nice pictures. Thank you!

CryptoPassion-Bannière.jpg

Welcome dear @westconnect ! keep growing and make a nice journey here.

Sure, I certainly hope to grow in this community

Hey! Welcome to Steemit. Hope you have a good time.

Thank you, I certainly hope so too @firepower :)

Welcome to steemit!!

Welcome to the platform!!!!! You have made a wise decision!!!!! STEEM ON!!!!!

Thank you, feels good to be here

Thank you @isteemithard I have checked out your post and also upvoted it as well.

Nice post at how to add profile picture on account @isteemhard. I will give it a go once I have a nice picture to put out there :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49