Hello Steem World...

I'm here!

(I kid) But, I do hope I will be able to become a strong contributor and promotor of this community and its aspirations.

Just about a week and a half ago I was completely in the dark about cryptocurrencies and more importantly the key elements that power them. I've been researching my butt off and trying to piece it all together so I at least have a good outline of how things work. I had been introduced to the Open Source / Free Software / Linux world years ago. The person who introduced me to all of that was very adamant about conveying the moral implications of 'licensed' black box software and the monopolistic practices behind a lack of choice when buying hardware with pre-selected software and OS. Basically, computing by someone else's (arguably convenient) design but with no real individual ownership or audit trail. I am in no way a Linux wizard but I have an appreciation for decentralization and transparency.

As for social media, I've been sort of over it, for a while now. I hate Facebook, I was active on Twitter last year due to the election cycle and now my account has been dormant for the better part of this year. So I was not looking for some new social media platform. I am aware however of the censorship that has been taking place on the old guard platforms and suppression of certain view points, shadow banning, demonetization and the rest of it. All of which obviously can flourish because of - again - the black box syndrome. That being said I don't hold the whole social aspect against Steemit. I am excited to engage in a more open community and hope to learn along the way!

I have varying interests and it's hard to say from day to day what I will share. Hopefully I'll be able to articulate any epiphanies I have along the way related to Steemit that can maybe help others who are also brand new to it. Otherwise there may be some commentary on current events and input about other things like nutrition or travel.

Thanks for reading!

Clifford-torus.gif

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit - and welcome to the wonderful world of crypto.

Welcome to Steem @whattodo I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Congratulations @whattodo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice to meet you, @whattodo! Welcome to the Steemit Community, wish you good luck and a good start, ive send you a small tip and followed you, hope you have an amazing day! :)

thank you much!
...followed back

Look who's here ^^ @Whattodo, I'm just here to leave a nice Hello ^^. Unfortunately i don't have much voting power, but i will be back and vote my followers. Need to grow a little ^^. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Nicaragua....aqua for my bunghole.....arriba...

Welcome @whattodo on Steemit ,nice to meet you !

I have followed you on Steemit, please be kind enough to follow me as well.

Welcome to Steemit! If you have questions - ask me @dobroman

Hello @whattodo From Aceh Sumatra, Nice To You !!
Welcome TO Steemit and esteem
Thank you good friends to meet you.
The best and amazing
Nice to Meet You All steemians
My name is Al?ne Cappellar? from the National Liberation Front of Sumatra (ASNLF)
I Say Welcome And Happy For You Here #steemit or esteem.
Do not Forget Follow Me Also @chocolate20180
I would like to express my gratitude.
I’m 21 years old and have just finished my degree in Philosophy. I am looking to develop other skills to work in politics. I really enjoyed being the president of the debating society, which helped me to construct arguments from different points of view. I also met many interesting people in that position. I want to learn on the job, which is why I’d like to work for

Congratulations @whattodo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56