FROM DETROIT TO SEATTLE 2016-2017- CROSS COUNTRY LIVING TRANSFORMATION

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)


Firstly let me introduce myself and give you a little bit of my background.

My name is Sarah Raymore and I have a passion for photography and videography that involves capturing musical artists. Whether it's at a small intimate venue or a large stadium festival gig. I've been shooting video and photo since I was 15, maybe even earlier if you count my amateur days with a point-n-shoot cool pix camera capturing local shows from a town I grew up in through my high school years.

I grew up in Detroit and lived there from birth till I was around 8 years old. Then I moved around a lot growing up and had followed a lot of local music as well as pursued music photography and video passionately at a 15. At that age I was in 10th grade and decided to take a vocational film and media class with a well known teacher around the high school I attended.

There I learned traditional photography starting off with an SLR camera and learning everything in a manual traditional b/w technique. I learned how to process, develop and print my own film. That raised a spark in my interest during my angsty teen years, when I was trying to find an outlet for my creative side. Long story short, my teacher, who I dedicate learning all of my craft and skill to; 'Jeff Bloomer' has been the biggest influence on my career journey as well as experience as a videographer and photographer. He taught me everything I know and I owe him all of my inspirational vision for the craft.

Speeding up to now, I moved to Seattle, Washington not knowing where it was going to take me or where I was going. But I had the idea of wanting to move out west for a life quest or answer since I was around 17. I took a road trip from Detroit to Seattle September 2007  to a music festival with a friend. That experience alone changed my life and I've been seriously chasing the dream ever since. 

My life changed around after that trip. I graduated high school; settled down from traveling and went to College for a split second. Then I had 2 manic episodes, was broke, almost lost hope on moving. Then something sparked out of nowhere. I took the opportunity and ran with it.

I know it sounds silly, and you're probably thinking, "well you were a teenager, shouldn't you stop thinking like a kid?" 

The thing is this "answer" or whatever "quest" this seemed like, I have it been burning inside my soul and heart for years. Years! 

So here I am. No family, a few friends. A year later I've made a decent amount of close connections; and still on this quest. I'm seeing how far I can go being in a new place. 

Building connections has been pretty hit or miss here to be honest. But I can say this, within the year I've been here I've learned so much about myself, about my strengths, weaknesses. Reflection!

Shit, it's been definitely a vision quest if I ever knew one. The landscape here is a total utopia. Mountains 14,000 ft high, snow capped year round, trees fucking EVERYWHERE! and legal weed.

 Oh and another big thing that has happened to me this year is finally FINALLY finding true love. I've never felt this kind of love before, and now before you judge me and say, "please don't make this a sappy bullshit' I found the one' story." Well that's definitely a part of my life, but I wouldn't necessarily say it's the only thing! 

I met a guy 4 months after I moved here and he became my first long term boyfriend. And we're in love. And I love his family. It's been quite the experience, being in love for the first time. It definitely has made me feel in many ways like this move was definitely worth it, because it has helped me challenge myself in ways I had not expected in a first time long- term relationship. I am grateful for every moment we spend together because he helps me learn what my potential is, gives me strength, and comfort like I've never experienced with anyone. 

Landon, I love you and I am excited for another year to journey around this crazy world with you. Looking forward to silly shenanigans we'll get into.


So there's my story, so far as of up to today. I am continuing to pursue my one dream job goal, and that is to become a successful music filmmaker and photographer for touring artists. Let's see how far I go and keep an eye on what I capture. Forgive me if I don't keep up with updating. It will be totally worth your while to check out when I do post! I promise! I post exclusive live concert footage, backstage footage, and a lot of random sillyness I get into!


Enjoy!

Sarah R.

Sort:  

Love you Sarah! You rock!

Love you Tommy!!!

I love your story and passion for photography/videography. We have lots of people inside Steemit that has same interests... I am sure you will love it here. Followed you and looking forward to see more of your posts.

Thank you! I appreciate your kind words. I'm uploading some new material tonight actually!

Will check on my timeline from time to time, hope to see your posts.

Your passion will bring you to the top, keep it up and aim high and continue doing what you love. Welcome to steemit and take care!

Post a very good friend, I just vote you hope we can help each other and can share friends steemit

Post a very good friend, I just vote you hope we can help each other and can share friends steemit

Welcome, neighbor. My wife and I are in Idaho and will be heading to Seattle soon. What music festival?

Thanks! It was Bumbershoot in 2007.

Welcome! Great addition to the community. I will definitely be following for some of this content. I'm a DJ, myself, from AL, and love photography, videography, & music! Cheers.

Nice one dear friend I enjoyed reading your posts looking forward to more of your posts.

Wow! What a story! Welcome To Steemit! I can't wait to see you future posts!! Good luck!!

Oh, speaking of my wife. Hey there! :D

This is great dear. Am waiting for more of your post dear. Keep its real

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63332.97
ETH 3169.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89