The art of introducing yourself

in #introduceyourself6 years ago
I have always found it hard to introduce myself to people both in real life and in a social media platforms, mostly because what can I say about me? How can I describe me? For some it’s easy, just write down and say the most generic things about you that can actually give people a vague idea of who you are.

Human beings have always created a personality, a character to perform in front a group of people, a character that will also vary depending on these groups of people for whom you are performing, your family, friends, co-workers, and strangers. Being ourselves, in my opinion, is just an illusion because we will always want to give the best impression of us, even if is unconscious we always try to fit in and be accepted and that’s the reason why we create these multiple characters, these versions of us.

This is also the reason why probably it’s hard for me to introduce myself to you because it’s not easy to present yourself in front a group of people when you don’t know how they will react to you and it’s scary. So let’s try to say a few things about me even if they’re all generic but at least you’ll have an idea of who I am as a person.

IMG-20180203-WA0018.jpg

So who am I? It’s very hard question to answer. I could start by saying my name. I’m Fabiola and it’s a pleasure for me to meet you in this rainy/sunny day or night depending on which part of the world you’re in. I’m a 20 years old human being trying to survive adulthood while living in a chaotic country also known as Venezuela.

A sociology student whose life has been changing a lot in the last couple of years due to her degree choice even though she tends to say that she hates it and complain about how hard it is and how little time she has in her life right now on a daily basis (that comes with being an university student, it doesn’t matter what your degree is), it’s something that she has learnt to love and appreciate. She just knows that it’s what she's supposed to do in her life. It’s who she's supposed to be.

Just another very anxious and socially awkward human being with an undying love for cats even though It's a dog owner for reasons that can’t explain. Perfectionist but also a massive procrastinator with a big fear of failure. A pop-punk lover with an obsession with tv shows and cheesy movies that still believes in true love even though her heart has been broken multiple times. A craft enthusiast and an expert escaping from reality, a natural daydreamer who has a passion for photography and writing, way too romantic for this world.

IMG_20141005_164957.jpg

And if I have to describe myself with one word I would say: Dreamer, or maybe believer (sorry, I couldn't choose). I might be an introvert, socially awkward human being that has always have troubles making friends and just perform like a normal human being in society but she has dreams, she has goals, always thinking about the future and, in one way or another, wishing and trying to make this world a better place.

So I guess the last thing I can say is…

Welcome to this little part of my weird mind.

I hope you like it.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit family! Good luck! I am sure that you will fully enjoy your journey here:)

Hello, welcome ... I invite you to our chat discord, we help new users to grow. We have live classes in Art, Business, Cryptocurrency, Leadership, Karaoke, poetry, there are many contests and many great people willing to help you will be welcome if you wish. https://discord.gg/JbGbP8D

Welcome to Steem, @whoisfa!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2846 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17 : Tips.

Hi! I am your greeting bot. 🤗
I warmly welcome you to Steemit!
I just upvoted you based on the quality of your introduction.
I wish you a lot of fun and success on Steemit!
Keep on writing nice posts and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news coverage round the clock! 🦄🦄🦄

Cool, thanks for sharing.

You have a nice introduction Fabiola! Welcome to steemit. Happy steeming☺️

I am so happy that you are here, whoisfa! I wish you a very inspired experience here in this culturally diversified yet mostly unified community :) Cheers!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Totally accurate, Fabiola. Welcome to Steemit. I wish you the best in this great community ^_^

We're on the same boat.

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95