Writer and Published Author of the FARLANDER book series. Anarcho-Escapist / Offgridding Wildster. Hoping to release some original fiction on Steemit ...



authorsite: www.colbuchanan.com

facebook: www.facebook.com/colbuchanan.author/


It's true, as a writer living by his wits I'm excited by Steemit. Sure I'm excited about other innovative platforms for creators too … but this … this Steem model is something else again … a leap right into Outer Space in terms of gamble and vision. 

I'm guessing most Steemers would agree. 

In just a few days of exploring this burgeoning Steemverse, I've not only realised the full wonder of Steem's design, but also what a great hangout the Steemit community can be too - the kind of place to seek out when you're kicking back with some bud and in need of something other than the norm. Sometimes it even feels like earlier days of the internet. It has that frontier feel to it. And there's already lots of talent to be found. 

So here I am throwing my own spirit into the mix. And the timing feels good. It fits with the new SF book project I've been putting together, which I'm hoping to experiment with in terms of innovative funding approaches. Essentially I want to see if there's a way of adding extra dynamics to the traditional publishing model. 


 The High Wild - Steem Preview

 What is my new book project? I call it THE HIGH WILD.   

 And I'm hoping to debut it here on Steemit, as a serial, while I write it. 



Think of a science fiction series featuring crypto-currencies and a Crypto-Nation, dark markets and a crowdfunded Resistance, with an offgridding, hacker protagonist on the run on a planet where privacy is no longer tolerated, and whose only escape is into Space.   

Personally I think the story fits into the Steemverse like a lubed and spirited hard-on into a glove. But that could just be my rosy-tinted opinion.

If you would like to see THE HIGH WILD book series (and other projects like it) making its debut here on Steemit, then please do UPVOTE this post and FOLLOW to support the project. 


Sláinte! 

CB

(to subscribe for email notifications, send a blank email to: thehighwild.ST (AT) yandex.com ) 




Sort:  

@wildmanhowling Thanks for sharing & welcome to Steemit!
Look forward to your posts here. :)

This seems cool. It would be great if you could also tell us a bit about how you prepare your books for publication (I presume that you publish ebooks), as well as how you promote them.

Hey firebat, no not ebooks, my Farlander fantasy books are published by TOR in UK and US, lots of other publishers elsewhere.

Wow! Congratulations -- getting published on dead tree is a real feat.

Yeah it feels it a bit like winning the lottery, though without the riches(!). That's why I'm into exploring Steemit and other platforms as a writer. Full-time writers who are writing innovative and non-mainstream novels need other ways of supplementing their unpredictable incomes. Maybe steemit can be a profitable place to release original fiction and passion-projects like The HIgh Wild?

Welcome! Looking forward to your series.

Welcome to Steemit! How did you find out about the platform? Are you going to share other posts outside of fiction? What do you think so far?

Hi. Yes it seems like a creative playground right now. I'm inspired to submit some poetry too, maybe also some blog type stuff. Fingers crossed for steemits future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67576.09
ETH 3762.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72