A Wandering Kernel of Happiness' Path to Steem

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

Hello, Steemit!


As an introduction, let me verify who I am.
My name is Jonathan Schattke, I am 50 years old, have lovely wife, a baby, and a Master's degree in Nuclear Engineering. I was a computer programmer from when I was a kid - Started programming in 1978 and never looked back. Computer programming was fun and easy for me. After I took a year at DeVry studying system design and program structure, I was a top level development programmer/analyst, able to take any system and needs and make it work. I specialized in systems that were causing other programmers excessive trouble, and making them work.

While working on a project at the University of Chicago (linking AutoCAD Map, Access and a SQL database), I came across he idea of Accelerator driven systems. I also came across papers on mercury cooled fast reactors, and after a friend heard about it, he suggested I charge the mercury and generate electricity inductively... which led to the concept of a Nuclear Power Plant With No Moving Parts. I submitted my Thesis in April, after a defense last spring. Unfortunately, the no moving parts design is not cost-effective without some additional R&D, so I have dropped back to a minimal moving part design. My next step is to do full design work on that and for that I'll be doing a crowdfunding, perhaps with 10% of the company going to large contributors.

To get back into the swing of actual work - since it has been over a decade since I had a job instead of college - I'm working with a startup doing ab inito chemistry simulations, we have a license for the ADF package from SCM. I'm working from home on my homebrewed system.
Geek out with me :)
Phenom II 1100T, 6 cores, 3.3 GHz sustained (and about 9 MB of cache)
Zalman heat pipe 240mm fan to keep that beast running at 55 C quietly, even with all 6 cores running 100%
16 GB RAM, running at 1600 MHz
2 TB Seagate drive
GeForce GT 730 w/1 GB RAM & dual 1080p monitors

yeah, its not the greatest system ever, but it was only about $1000 when I put it together. If I want to go faster, I have to shell out that much for an Intel 8 or 12 core chip (because the AMD Fx series only have one Floating point unit for every two "cores"). I could blow a bunch of money on a better video card, but I'm no twitch jockey.

I have another 1100T system running Linux. I use them for MCNP nuclear simulations, and now the chemisty ab inito stuff.

Some links to other places with my content:
http://www.facebook.com/jmschattke
http://wizwom.livejournal.com/

Sort:  

I am not one who was born in the possession of knowledge; I am one who is fond of antiquity, and earnest in seeking it there.

What's the best way to carve wood? -Whittle by whittle.

nice intro, welcome

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68