Hi I'm Lachlan, engineer, language enthusiast, musician, minimalist in Tokyo, Japan!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemit family! I am a software engineer, language enthusiast, musician, minimalist and free software advocate living in Tokyo, Japan! (日本語は下).

tl;dr:

  • Fullstack software developer, especially modern JS, moving into AI/ML
  • Language enthusiast. I know English and Japanese and am studying Korean
  • Musician, I played the piano
  • From Australia, but in Tokyo, one of the most exciting and fast moving cities in the world
  • Minimalist. I live with only the essentials, and take joy in optimizing my life
  • Blogger, mainly about software and life in Japan
  • ...and much more!

Steemitの皆様へ、

まずは軽く自己紹介を。
エンジニアのロッキーです。
オーストラリア人で現在は東京に住んでいます。
フリーソフトウェアを支持していて、その他に言語が好きです。

もう少し詳しく紹介すると、

  • フルスタックエンジニア。
    特にモダーンが得意、今後はAI/機械学習も注力しています。
  • 言語の勉強が好き。
    英語・日本語のバイリンガル。そして韓国語も勉強中!
  • 出身はオーストラリア、現在は東京在住。
    東京は世界の一番面白い街の一つで、ここでの生活について投稿していきます。
  • ミニマリスト。
    必要なものだけでくれして行きたいです。できるだけ生活を効率的にするのが好きです。
  • ブロガー。
    ソフトウェア、日本での生活について。
  • ピアニスト。

。。。他にも色々!

よろしくお願いします。

Medium | Github | Twitter

Not tl;dr

Travel, and Life in Japan

I live in Azabu Juuban (麻布十番) in Tokyo, Japan! Tokyo is super exciting place to live. Life is fast, there is something happening every day, and the opportunities are endless. Living here is great, and I'll be posting a lot about the sites, sounds and smells of Tokyo - the real Tokyo, too, not just what you see on advertisements and in magazines. The software and startup scene is huge as well, which I'm excited to be involved in.

I do hope to experience other countries and cultures in the future as well, and I'd love to hear your recommendations about where to go next! Asia is incredible, but I'd love to head west next, at least for a bit.

Programming and Free Software

github

I spent a lot of time programming. My main contributions are to Vue.js. I also often blog about software development, especially about TDD and best practising for developing websites, as well as giving several presentations about the topic and various events.

I'm also interested in machine learning, and have been going through Andrew Ng's reputable machine learning series. I am aiming to make software development accessible and free - computers are part of everyone's lives, and everyone should be able to use them to improve their quality of life.

Furthermore, as walled ecosystems like Apple and Google become more and more dominant, the openness and free nature of the internet grows less and less. This draws me to free software and open source - decentralised software with no vendor lock in. This also means I'm a big advocate of the blockchain steemit is built on. Creators should own and profit from the hard work they put into creating high quality content.

Language and Culture

I have been living in Japan for about 18 months, and studying for nearly 10 years! I am especially interested in Japanese literature, as well as translation. I translated Yoko Ono's short story The Tear Vendor (涙売り) and Saiichi Maruya's That which the Showa Era discovered(昭和が発見したもの)for the JLPP International Translation Competition, and several of Murakami Haruki's short stories from Drive My Car (ドライブ・マイーカー). I have read several of Higashino Keigo's recently novels, among other authors. Let me know if you have any recommendations! I also do freelance translation both privately and via Gengo.

Music, Minimalism and the Rest

Piano is something I've always enjoyed and try to keep up as much as possible. During my increasingly busy life, it can be hard to get away and enjoy down time. I'm mostly interested in classical, especially Chopin. Lately I am practising Nocturne Op 9 No 1 and Waltz Op 42 No 2. His music is complex and full of emotion, yet simple and elegant. This brings me to...

Minimalism. In a world oversaturated with advertising, new products and applications with the promise of improving our lives, I'm increasing believing less is more. Simple is best. Time is the most valuable resource we have, and I work hard to optimize mine, but spending less time doing things that don't contribute to my personal growth or improvement. More on this soon. I'll be posting little tips now and then, about how I try to optimize my life, and would love to hear how you optimize yours!

I am looking forward to joining the community, contributing to and reading high quality content!

Sort:  

It's so beautiful to have you here on steemit. I took time to come welcome you and I know you will love it here. Welcome to our family. @greatness96

Hey @greatness96, thank you for the kind welcome! It looks like you are posting a lot of great content regularly, going to follow and keep an eye on your posts. Thanks!

Wow! Software developer here too and new to steemit! Also involved with JS community! But I wear a React t-shirt! I want to teach people how they can make their own apps using mainly meteor and react, why meteor? because is easier to get started! Maybe we can partner up! You can read more about me in this post. Keep you in touch! Definitely you got a new follower!

Hey Diego, thanks for the follow. React is definitely an awesome framework. Been working with react-native a bit lately and really enjoying it.

Thanks for the follow, I'll be keeping up with you as well, and maybe we can collab on something! Find me on github :)

Also Check Steamfollower! it's a great way to get into steemit!

Welcome to the Steem World!
I have recently made an orientation video that will help you in your journey here - and will hopefully answer all the questions that took me months to figure out.


https://steemit.com/dtube/@maneki-neko/tuswb0ao
I wish you all the best here on Steem!

Thanks a lot. Just finished watching the video - great content. One suggestion would be maybe actually show the Steam UI a little more, not just you talking, that might be helpful! But it still helped me a ton, since I'm new to steemit, and answered a lot of questions. Thanks maneki-neko-san!

Thank you I will do that in my next version

Welcome to Steemit Lachlan! Tokyo is wonderful, no city like it in the world. I'm out in Hachioji, but spend a lot of time downtown.

Less is indeed more, until you get married and have kids!

I'm an advisor to the @Steemit-jp project to help onboard more Japanese users. @yoshiko is leading the initiative. We just had a brainstorming meetup yesterday. We need all hands on deck to build this community up so よろしくお願いします。

Cheers.

Hi Erik! Thanks for the greeting. Hachioji is a great area. Shoot me a msg if are you downtown sometime!

I'd like to be more involved in the Japanese community as well, please let me know where or how I can be more involved. よろしけお願いします。

Contact @yoshiko @moromaro or @steemitjp , preferably in Japanese. I am headed to California for work tomorrow, but will reach out when I return. Enjoy.

Welcome! I‘m really looking forward to your posts, your introduction post was already highly interesting to read. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71095.13
ETH 3686.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76