Ciao, Steemit, you beautiful mess! @suzi3d introduced me via @Twitter.

I’m Dolly, a Gen Xer, and except for a stray comment or two, this is my first post. On most social media, I use creepy dolls as my avatars, which originated way back in the days of MySpace (!) when I was a young mother blogging mostly about parenting and relationships.

At first, I chose a creepy doll because I wanted to avoid the unwelcome attention I received at times from guys online. Now it’s just taken a life of its own and become “my thing.” Friends and family send me creepy doll photos, memes, and articles all the time. Please feel free to do the same!

Here I am with my high-tech sign. At my stage in life, I would no longer receive “unwelcome attention” but now I tend to avoid photos on the Internet for other reasons, sorry. It’s one of my charming privacy quirks.

dolly.jpg

Steem has been mentioned a few times on Twitter accounts I follow, but I think I saw it mentioned by @suzi3d first.

What makes me tick? I love to learn

My interests in being here, both in reading and writing, are very diverse. I love to learn about new things. For example, I know next to nothing about blockchain or cryptocurrency but am interested to learn. I’m especially interested in Manna (the cryptocurrency based on the idea of providing a universal basic income – money is a social construct, right? Very few people have so much of it, because the rest of us agree that they do.) Can’t wait to see how Manna progresses and how other cryptocurrencies might change the world.

What are my interests these days?

Privacy

I’m very interested in learning more about Internet privacy – and privacy in general. The surveillance state is frightening in ways we haven’t even begun to understand. I’m interested in learning how to fight for our privacy and restore it.

Truth and Transparency

Another topic very important to me is truth and transparency. I’m therefore a big Wikileaks supporter. How are we, regular ol’ people, going to protect and support the whistle-blowers and others who represent the last bastion between us and a global militarized corporate all-controlling state?

And the Biggie: Fighting Propaganda

So…all these interests converge around the problem that concerns me the very most these days: On every wave of the political spectrum, the majority of people have a rigid “team mentality” and seemingly are swayed by propaganda and whatever misinformation is presented to them by someone they think is on “their team.”

How do we fight that? How do we change the world, given that the majority of people are “followers” and not independent critical thinkers? They believe what their chosen authorities tell them to believe. How do we help people learn to evaluate claims and think for themselves?

In the US, Trump supporters believe Trump is going to drain the swamp, despite all indications to the contrary; supporters of the Democrat Establishment believe that the Dems will give them Medicare for all, if only they can vote in “better candidates next time” (good luck with that).

Another example: The stuff about “Russia, Russia, Russia” simply doesn’t have any evidence to support it, and yet the majority of Americans seem to think Russia “hacked the election” (whatever the heck that would mean) and poisoned the Skripals in the UK with a novichok – even with no evidence and even though these claims don’t stand up to even the slightest scrutiny and/or common sense.

So my passion currently lies in exploring how to combat propaganda and promote critical thinking, and incidentally, how to motivate 325 million basically decent human beings to stop their government from being the World’s Evil Empire. Before they can take action, they need to see there’s a problem.

Thanks for reading! I’m glad to be here and look forward to sharing ideas and learning from you.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit community! Good luck with all the upcoming posts and we hope you're going to enjoy your time here!


Welcome to Steemit @yesthatdolly!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome to steemit @yesthatdolly and kudos to @suzi3d to bring you here. I wish you luck and success on this rewarding platform.

Thank you for the good wishes, dalaih!

Welcome to Steemit! Don’t let others judge you. Just ignore the haters and be yourself and enjoy your time at Steemit!

@leoo

Thank you, leoo, for the good wishes and advice!

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you’ll enjoy being here as much as I do.

You might find these YouTube videos useful. They are created specifically to help new Steemers grow and be successful on Steemit and will be posted on the @steemitvideos account as well.

How To Write A Good Intro Post

All The Best!
Spencer Coffman
My Latest Article: Get More Blog Traffic

Thank you, spencercoffman!

You're welcome! I hope the videos will help you out. Feel free to leave comments directly on the YouTube videos or on the @steemitvideos posts if you have any questions!

hi @yesthatdolly welcome to steemit community. looking forward for your next post. see you around 😊

Thanks, hazelicious! See you! :)

Congratulations @yesthatdolly! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Nice post dear. Welcome to steemit and have a wonderful time here.

I have followed you, Kindly follow me back to be getting up-votes from me on your future posts. https://steemit.com/@chokomenia

Thank you

Thank you, chokomenia!

Hello Friend! I'm new to Steemit. I understand correctly that you, too? I followed you, I hope that you too will follow me! Let's develop the power of Steemitt together! It seems to me that you are a very good person :)

Thanks, bekker! Yes, I'll follow you too! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65122.70
ETH 2948.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66