Introducing: A programmer and game dev

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

2018-06-11-111933.png
P.S. I like to make funny faces when I take selfies, please don't be alarmed

Hey, Steemit!

My name is Nick a.k.a ZealousCoder. I am indeed a very zealous coder, I have been programming for over 20 years of my life. I started out just before I was a teenager and never really stopped. I code almost every day, don't think I could ever stop.

I absolutely love learning new languages and tools and above all, making games. I can pick up any language quicker than you can drop the book on my desk. And I'm dead serious about it too!

This is my story

Ever since I was young and would play this ASCII bowling game on my dad's work computer, I had dreamed of making computer games. I started out trying to make Yahtzee in qbasic on MS-DOS and DOSSHELL wow that brings me back.

It has been my privilege to watch the world of computing evolve. I can remember this almost like it was yesterday when I was told that I could make my own games. I was extremely excited! It was a whole new world for me I could create huge amazing worlds; anything I could imagine. It sparked a quest in me to build the most amazing world, EVER! But then...

The reality, so many years later and only now am I actually working on finishing my first real game. And its really not anything super big or amazing. But, ya know, I am having so much fun and just focusing on finishing. Making sure it doesn't become too in-depth.

Better late than never! I believe this is the start of a great number of games. And I cannot wait to share my journey with you all and the world. It has definitely been a struggle to get to this point. However it is one of the most rewarding things I have done in my career. Aside from optimizing the crap out of websites, that's super rewarding.

So you can expect I will share my knowledge here. Techniques and programming tips, etc.

Amber Sol... my little side project

It's a simple 2D side-scrolling arcade style shooter, with customizable ship building. Definitely a work in progress you can play the demo for yourself at the itch page. There are a lot of great projects in development there, so please check it out. I appreciate any ideas and feedback you may have.

I have a few other projects set up on there for you to follow under the studio named Anor Studios

You can follow my tumblr page for updates if you like Anor studios tumblr.

And youtube channel here

Sort:  

Welcome man ;)
As a programmer you should defenitely check out @utopian-io!
Resteeming you for some publicity!
Greets, @theaustrianguy

Thanks, man. I really appreciate it.

Welcome to Steem Community @zealouscoder! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Hello Nick! Welcome to Steemit.

Hello @zealouscoder! Welcome to the community!!

Hey nick pretty cool looking little video game reminds me of one I played as a kid at some restaurant. I see you don’t have a Steemit Profile Picture I made a contest post on the bottom it will teach you, then after you make yours feel free to enter the contest to create mine. https://steemit.com/contest/@isteemithard/design-isteemithard-a-profile-picture-avatar-contest-19-winner-of-18-how-to-set-a-steemit-profile-picture

Hey thanks, I am a big fan of arcade games. Btw, I really like your contest idea super cool, keep it up.

Hola querido, sigue escribiendo y compartiendo contenido original y de calidad, espero visites y votes por alguno de mis post, saludos y exito!
https://steemit.com/steemit/@andromedabi/creciendo-con-steemit-y-consejos-para-ti
Hello dear, keep writing and sharing original and quality content, I hope you visit and vote for some of my post, greetings and success
https://steemit.com/steemit/@andromedabi/growing-with-steemit-and-tips-for-you

Welcome to the Steemit platform. I wish you good luck and many good things as you join us :)

@zealouscoder, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Welcome to steemit
download.png

Join us on our Steemschool discord
using this link
https://discord.gg/2F74XX9

And get to learn about various niches...
Photography, arts, poetry, business amongst others...

THERE IS A 5000 SBD CONTEST GOING ON

The interesting part is we have people all over the world and we help each other grow...

There are over 6k steemian ready to support your growth on steemit

Best wishes 👏👍

Welcome to Steem, @zealouscoder!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2846 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17 : Tips.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01