Spiritually connected to the forest

in #introducingmyself6 years ago (edited)

Hello universe!

I am Hermod, born and raised in the northern part of Norway, in a small town called Harstad. Half of the year it is almost total darkness here, and the other half its light all the time. My name is very old norse name and means "The Messenger of God", or Odins budbringer in norwegian. This is the view from my house in Harstad, and was the cover of my second album Return Of The Dark Sun.

I am part sami, an indigenous people of the Artic (north of Norway, Sweden, Finland and Russia). My ancestors lived by fishing and farming, and was rich with culture and connection to nature and each other. This is me watching the sunrise at Nøkkelvann in Oslo a summer night (photo by Dlovsnej).

The ripples are my frequency.

Some years ago my love for music developed into something more than just listening. I installed Ableton on my laptop and started making different structures of ambient and psybient frequencies. This was the kind of creative bubble I had always searched for! Later I bought more instruments and different synths, and also a microphone to use for recording all kinds of sounds out in the nature. The artist Girjo was born! Girjo is a sami word, meaning varigated being. Usually we call this name to a dog or cow of many colours! Haha! I am signed by the record label Alfheimr Records, and played live there in the forest of Hedmark in 2016. It was a very nice experience, a 2 hour long set in a dark and perfect night with the fullmoon. I had spent many hours out in the forest recording birds, the ocean, melting ice, insects crawling, trees breaking and so on, so it was really cool to play it for someone. All of my music is really just self-healing frequencies from the deep consciousness of my inner being. The whole set is in soundcloud and if you want to check it out I have posted a link below, with a photo from my set. girjolivealfheimr.jpg

https://soundcloud.com/girjo/alfheimr-live-set-2016

Last year I came out with an EP called Slow Vibration for Alfheimr Records:

https://alfheimr-records.bandcamp.com/

Cover EP Slow Vibration by Sophie Hansen.jpg

Currently I am working on a new EP called The Sun Is Made Of Water, which will come out later this year. Expect some experimental psybient with a touch of forestpsy and chill ambient soundscapes.

All of my music (except EP Slow Vibration) is available free for download (just name your price!) at my bandcamp:

https://girjo.bandcamp.com/

I also do different creative things like psychedelic, abstract and realistic drawings and writing poetry, short stories and novels. I have written a book called "While We Are Waiting For The Demon To Take Us To Hell."

I live in Harstad now, but have lived many years in Oslo, Tromsø and Trondheim, and also 2 years in Hong Kong, China. I have a master in Engineering Geology.

Love from Norway and a happy new year!

26170168_583140285362066_613244177067968316_o.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @girjoforest ! The place of opportunities and good vibes ;)

Thanks dude! I can feel it already @steingal ;)

WOW I almost missed your introduction post @girjoforest!

I just barely managed to give you an upvote within the 7 day time window we have here on this platform. I officially want to welcome you to Steemit! (even though I have been aware of you having a user here for a while already)

As a tiny start boost for your account I am resteeming (Steemit word for reposting) your post, I think some of my followers would be interested in following you as well ^_^

Thanks a lot @xtetrahedron! Glad u made it just in time haha, and thanks for the resteem! Hopefully some of them might find it interesting ^^

Velkommen til Steemit! :-)

Takk partyhvalrossen! :)

hope Steemit treats you well! Welcome. @girjoforest

Thank you @strvfemusic. I am sure about that! Great to be here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64