GIDDAY!

in #introducingmyself6 years ago (edited)

GIDDAY!

My profile thumbnail.jpg

My name is Trudee Hunter and I’m saying, “Hi” to you all, using the quintessential Aussie greeting (‘Gidday’) which seems appropriate considering I hail from ‘The Land Down Under,” where Kangaroos, Kookaburras and Koalas reside.

KKK resized again.jpg

As this is my very first post, I’d like to take this opportunity to thank my friend Denise @dswigle for introducing me to Steemit. (My tag is @trudeehunter) I didn’t catch the vision immediately and I’ll probably kick myself (gently) for not taking a more in depth look sooner. After making further enquiries, I have decided I simply cannot miss out on all the fun any longer.
I believe Steemit will be the ideal place for me to pursue my three main creative passions such as photography, painting and writing. I love meeting people from all over the world and want to develop a deeper understanding of the different cultures, explore diverse geographical venues through people I engage with and keep my mind active in the process.
I have reached that often longed-for milestone in life called ‘Retirement.’ But what does retirement mean for me?

Retired sign.png

This sign partly explains the benefits of retirement but inactivity is not part and parcel of the package for me. Oh no! I’m one of those baby boomers who believes that every moment counts and after bringing up three wonderful sons and having been very involved with our seven fabulous grandchildren for many years, I’m going to listen intently to my inner creative yearnings and indulge them at every opportunity.

I have always enjoyed artistic activities; choosing Art as a subject at school, marrying a sign-writer who taught me the trade and employed me as his part time artist whilst our family grew up. I loved my involvement with the silk screen printing side of the business and following that, I became a beauty consultant for many years where the faces of women were my canvas rather than the ‘Picasso’ styled ones the traditional artist uses.

Then in 2008, I had my first book published; A biography called, “Out of a Deep Pit.” It is an inspirational story about a Welshman who was born in Wales, England in 1920 and started his working life at the age of 16 in the dark, dank Coal mines of Caerau. Harold Jones survived shipwreck in WW11 and later immigrated to Australia which is where I met him many years later. I found the writing experience to be a stretching one to begin with but soon found myself totally absorbed by this amazing man’s story and when it was finally published I was rewarded for my efforts in so many ways.

Nowadays I divide my time between taking day trips or longer travel stints for relaxation and photography and when the painting urge strikes, my dining room morphs into an artist’s studio and I become so engrossed in my work, most forms of communication are ignored, I forget to eat and I struggle to prevent redecorating my unit by default when lost in my world of fluid art. Here are a few examples of my artwork.

SE Collage.jpeg

Due to the fact that I am also a keen amateur photographer and have quite a collection of original photos available, I plan to post 90% of my own images in Steemit. My artists website is https://trudee-hunter.pixels.com/ for those of you who’d like to view a sample of my photos. I also love creating contemporary effects and textures with digital art using my original photos and here are a few styles I really enjoy producing.

I look forward to finding my way around this wonderful platform and know I will learn, grow, and develop in ways that I can only imagine as I venture into the unknown. I hope you will enjoy connecting with me as much as I will with you. Blessings, fellow Steemians.

Sort:  

I missed you. my adopted sister :) Welcome!!!!

I've missed you too, my adopted brother and am so happy to re-connect with you here. You are my macro shot hero!

I am glad the @dswigle was able to persuade you eventually to check us out. I have been here a year and I wish I had gotten here sooner! I main thing is Steemit is all about interaction. If you interact, you will do well here no question. Just follow the fine example set by @dswigle!!! :)

That's great advice @old-guys-photos. Thank you. I'm pleased to hear you are enjoying it hear too. Yes @dswigle sets a fine example.

Welcome to Steemit!

Thank you very much @elizacheng. It’s great to be here.

You are most welcome. All the tags are very important in getting more exposure. So for a start, use those more popular tags. If you are taking photos with phone, you can use smartphonephotography as tag. Instead of kangaroo, maybe can choose animal or animalphotography as tag. And i think there's a teamaustralia here too.

Oh thanks for the welcome tips Eliza. I don't use my phone for taking photos but I should be able to use animalphotography tag under my posts when appropriate. It would be more effective. I have so much to learn.

And I will certainly check out the teamaustralia also Eliza. Thanks for that. xox

Welcome to Steemit family Dear Trudee.....I am sooooooooooo happy to see you and I look forward to your beautiful art and photography. Congratulations on your book as well. You are truly multi talented and you belong here with us XOXO

You've made my day with your genuine greetings and kind thoughts dear Lena. Thank you very much. Should I be tagging your name in these replies or do you get notification when someone replies to your comments?

My pleasure Trudee, I really mean it...............and yes I get notifications. By the way, you may like to join our #fruitsandveggiesmonday 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

Thank you for your kind invitation Lena. I don't have many fruit or veggie photos so I will have to get my act together. Will join in the meantime and work on building up my fruit and veggie portfolio. (lol)

Yay!!! Trudee is here!! Welcome, my friend! Upped and resteemed.

Many thanks for your wonderful welcome Melinda. .......and for the support. I'm keen to get familiar with the terminology and learn how to implement the procedures.

You know I'm happy to help, anytime! Just message me! Spend lots of time commenting and reading! And get out of the Facebook habit of clicking like...upvotes are not likes!!

I will definitely take you up on that offer dear Melinda. Looks like I'll need to change old habits. However, it will be good stimulation for the 'grey matter'........and I'm not talking about my hair. (lol)

That's how I feel about it! It has been a challenge and exactly the preoccupation I needed to make it through this year.

That's so good to hear Melinda. It cant have been easy for you. (Hugs)

Welcome! If you connect with the right people, you will enjoy this platform. Nice to meet you! You sound very talented! I live in Texas, USA and have been on Steemit since late June 2017.

Lovely to meet you also Violet. I'm very happy to be here. I do love creative pursuits and am happiest when involved in them. I look forward to getting to share this journey with you. Thank you for your kind welcome. It is much appreciated.

Thank you Violet. I replied (below) but it may not have gone in the correct place.

Great intro post, Trudee! What a cool job Denise did, to get you here! Good to see you again, my friend! :)

Thank you kindly Patrick. It's wonderful to see you again also. Yes, Denise has a way with words, but I'm sure you don't need me to tell you that.

My dear Miss T, I'm gnomely thrilled to see you here ! Beautiful introduction that I resteem with a delighted pleasure =))
Your Luigi

Yeah ! Ditto my gnome Luigi, my dear Trudee ! welcometonewbiesredim.png

What a wonderful day ! ^_^

Wow........what a fabulous welcome @barbara-orenya. Thank you so much. I see your unique and wonderful artistic talents are alive and well. Happy New Year to you my friend.

What a wonderful day indeed!

How did I miss this???? I can see that people found you. They have been waiting for you to put up a post so they could visit! You will love it here! You already made over 4.00 on this post! Woo-hoo!

You also want to use more popular tags, Art is good and Introduce yourself but photography is very popular and tsufamily for a while till everyone sees you are here.

We need to get Nick to come over. He would like it, except for the being social part.! :)

Hi, Trudy!!! xoxoxo I am so glad you are here and let me know if you need ANYTHING!!! tip!

Woo-Hoo indeed! Thank you very much Denise. I've got to get a handle on this 'tip' business........and everything else as well. (lol) And maybe I haven't been using the best tags. But this is my first week and it is one step at a time. I will have heaps of questions but will read up as much I can so I don't hassle you too much. I hope you are having an awesome day. Love those cool sunnies. They have the touch of the 'celebrity' about them. ('Sunnies' is Aussie terminology for Sunglasses btw. We shorten everything over here, and I'm convinced we need our own dictionary to reduce confusion.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62875.13
ETH 3030.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67