Hey Steemit, you've got a Beekeeper!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduction6 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone! I am happy to join the community and look forward to contributing to something I think is going to be special!

The short, I am from a small town in a small state and I moved to a big city in a big state, I've always played a lot of video games, loved music and art, and dreamed of having my own farm where I could enjoy this beautiful world. Well, that dream became more difficult with the realities of medical debt and home ownership. So I got a nice job a Fortune 500 financial institution. (It's funny to see them have no idea how cryptocurrency or economics for that matter. They are all up in arms over bitcoin but have no idea how deep blockchain technology can go. ) Below is an actual picture of my hometown. These are most of the significant buildings that aren't fast food chains.

download.jpg

My career is going well, but I am mostly disinterested. I still want to be self-employed. I still want to find my own way. Careers at Fortune 500 companies are too predictable and too easy. So in this last year, I have become very interested in beekeeping. Bees are beautiful and complex creatures. The level of complexity is too great to go into here, but I would love to answer questions about bees and beekeeping. I can't resist! Did you know that honey bees can tell which flowers have nectar to harvest based on their electric charge..that plants with more nectar generate a stronger charge and the bees can sense that? WOW! I truly love these creatures and they bring me so much peace and joy. I took classes, I ordered equipment, I bought a queen and some workers and this year my hive generated 30 pounds of honey. Which I gladly gave away and sold. This hobby is one that you can learn a little and do well and learn a lot and do just as well. Bees do the work. Just respect and observe them and they will teach you everything! It's fairly easy to get into actually. Photos below from only 1 month into the lightbulb that said "Hey, be a beekeeper!" I haven't even been stung after a year!

DSCN7220.JPG

oops spilled some honey!

DSCN7232.JPG

The next step on this journey is a storefront. I want a honey store. I want to run a honey store. I want to source honey from beekeepers across the US and bottle and sell it. I freaking love honey.

For now this is a hobby, but I want it to be my livelihood. I plan to document the path from hobby to livelihood here on my blog. I will get started soon. Oh, and one thing that has stood in my way is a video game addiction. I love gaming. Right now, I play Rimworld. A lot. That game is my baby. I like PUBG but suck so hard at it, but it was a huge time sink before. So I have decided to at least make it productive. I began recording Rimworld stories and playthroughs and will release them in an episodic fashion. If you'd be interested in Rimworld episodes posted here in text or video form let me know. Inside joke for those Rimworlders below.

Pk039xl.png

I'm so excited to be a part of the community and help it grow! I just bought my first Steem Power and look forward to being a part of something special.

Thank you all for reading!

Sort:  

My GF is selling Bulgarian honey in Slovenia for crypto. Good to know who to turn to when we have questions.

Awesome i hope you achieve your goals. Welcome to Steemit pal :)

Congratulations @bgreco90! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62