Introduction, Bonsoir | emkatherine

in #introduction7 years ago

Can a professional photographer survive Steemit? We shall see.

I N T R O

Patience, my friend. I'm new to this. Ultimately, I'm hoping this can provide me the outlet I am looking for to build my Javascript experience. Okay, about me...

B A S I C S

  • late 20s
  • illustrator, writer, photographer and graphic designer
  • currently under-going a big change or turning point in my life

random fact = I allow interruptions in my creative processes for my brother's kids.


James A. McNeill Whistler, "Deep Sea, the"
James A. McNeill Whistler, "Deep Sea, the"


B A C K G R O U N D

05 | Once upon a time; there was this stupid, little thing called myspace.com where I learned low-key HTML coding. Really, who didn't do that?

11 | Fast-forward to my last-ish year of college, and my tapping into myspace layout codes to manipulate them served me well in my web design class. However, we didn't dive deep into it. I wasn't grasping any concepts until graduation.

15 | HTML and CSS were really quick to learn. I stayed strict to my "just a bit of new material at a time" kind of learning, since that's the fastest way I pick up on new things. Though, I felt held back. I wanted to be able to do more. Way more. And this is where Javascript entered the stage. The idea of functionality and interactivity dazzled me as I fantasized about front-end development.

random fact = I wasn't planning on ever doing front-end development. It just sort of...well, happened. Funny how things take place, huh?

T O D A Y

Nowadays, I practice scripting down on paper, but I still haven't done anything in JS yet. Thus, I am using this little slice of the internet to push me in doing projects here and there.
On a unrelated note, I'm enjoying my time spent with photography and design. I've contacted a couple of employers "in the city", and I'm hoping I can be of use to them in the future. I know I'm not a full-stack developer, but there must be some future in solely the client-side of things.

random fact = I quit a novel I was writing, but now I'm thinking of going back to it. Originated in 2013, it still hasn't been officially written. Maybe I'll finish it when I'm 70 y.o., haha.

W H A T - I S - N E X T

What can I say... I have my work cut out for me. I definitely want to get my hands on some cryptocurrency knowledge. And some JS frameworks. Told you I was a newbie at all of this. Well, gotta start somewhere.

random fact = Minimalism forever changed how I creatively work. And I'm curious where it'll bring me to next. Let's find out together.


GitHub Logo
P.S. I just don't want a life someone else already has.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70700.78
ETH 3798.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43