Introduce Yourself - Life As a Lion

in #introduction7 years ago (edited)

Don't mind if I do! There's nothing I love more than talking about myself, although I genuinely do it from a place of hoping to connect with others and not out of pure selfishness like it can seem. I have held several jobs that required me to be intensely personal, including 6 years on the radio, so talking about myself and my personal life comes a little too easily to me. If you think I'm over-sharing, it's not just you. It’s my mission.
I now live in Colorado and am raising two children in the same place I was raised. After a life of moving around, it is wonderful to be home. My interests are vast and include language and poetry, literature, film, television, politics, medicine, astrology, religion, sports, and art. And travel. And nature. I have spent my life writing and continue to do so. I received a young author's award at age 5, so I suppose you could say I began my practice then, and although there have been years of my life in which I did not write, the act of sitting down at the page has been my greatest joy and most consistent and satisfying creative urge. I've been blessed to have my original writings published. I've also spent my life performing and hope to continue, whether it's local theater, choirs, church, karaoke or singing the National Anthem for local events and professional athletics. In the community, I have worked with various organizations doing speaking engagements to promote Adoption Awareness. I work as a Massage Therapist and spend a great deal of time exploring the roads and farmlands and city and mountains around my home. I have been lucky enough to travel to Brazil and work amongst the homeless children of Sao Paulo, and it vastly shaped the foundations of my belief system. I spent my childhood flying from Denver to Chicago. The majority of my adult life has been spent in the Midwest, including Wyoming, South Dakota, Minnesota, Iowa, Wisconsin, Kansas and now finally, Colorado. I am a frazzled, outrageous, repressed comedian who writes essays on topics ranging from motherhood to writing, from poetry to travel, from politics to beauty reviews. I hope also to share excerpts and parts of the process of my current project, which is a memoir, and my ongoing project, a historical fiction series.

My daughter is 3 years old, and my new son is just 8 weeks old today. My husband is from Colorado, and we have lived here together for 1 year, just an hour south of where I was born.

Thank you so much for reading!

Sort:  

Hi, Joylion, In case this has been your first Introdusemyself Post i'm here to welcome you to Steemit. I hope you have a lot of fun here and you may follow me. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Thank you so much!

Congratulations @joylion! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

A new Steemian ^^ hello @joylion I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70427.25
ETH 3798.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50