Pleased to meet you, Steemitlandia!

in #introduction5 years ago

IMG_20190102_125847792.jpg
I'd just about given up hope of making it into the mysterious Steemit world. After all, I registered in the third week of November, and here it was, 2019, and I hadn't heard anything yet. Then an email nonchalantly appeared in my inbox more than a week into the new year. I squinted at it like a mole squints at the sun. Steemit? Oh yeah! Hooray!

So here I am, introducing myself to a bunch of strangers. But I'm hoping you all won't be strangers for long. I hope you'll introduce yourselves and become familiar faces and voices in my life. I'd like to bring over a plate of cookies and say hi, but since we're digital neighbors, I'll offer a :).

About me: I've been writing for the web since about 1999 when I discovered a business called "Write for Cash." I've churned out article after blog post after white paper after press release in the years since, and I've learned about all kinds of random things: video conferencing, solar roofing, film production trailers, jewelry insurance, superannuation, construction estimating software, etc.

I also write books and homeschool curriculum. I'm into education innovation, cryptocurrency, rock climbing (although I broke my wrist last year), and reading. My husband and three kids are the lights of my life, and I'm enjoying living in England this academic year.

Stuff I like: freedom, wool socks, radiators, red grapes, KBCO, Wallace Stegner, teaching Sunday School, Korean dramas, old movies, paper, sunshine, summer

Stuff I don't like: cold, ice, authoritarianism, routine, when people intentionally spell things wrong to be cute (Kwik Kopy), expensive stuff, high heels
cant-wait-cold-weather-meme.jpg

So you're getting bored with me at this point, and that's why I'm going to wrap things up. But I'm looking forward to reading about you and learning the ins and outs of Steemitlandia. Pretty soon I'll know where to find things and understand the flow of traffic and not get run over because I forgot to look to the right instead of the left (that sort of thing happens to Americans in the UK). But, right, there aren't any moving vehicles in this Steemit neighborhood. We're safe. Ahhh.!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67