Hi, I'm Ransome. What's This All About?

in #introduction5 years ago (edited)

Are traditional blogs from Wordpress dead? The question has been on my mind for months. And is it too late for a writer to start blogging when the Internet is saturated by content farms?

It's discouraging to see how major search engines favor mass-published blogs based on SEO and post frequency rather than quality. Clickbait and bloggers owned by amateurs claiming to be professionals rise to the top of Google's ranks while professional, qualified individuals sink.

I found Steemit by accident while I was researching investment opportunities. (I trade Forex and stocks as a hobby and side-income).

I'm hoping that Steemit is a place where I can post my content. I write thrillers (short, novella, and novel-length) travel articles. I'd like to write about forex trading advice too. Maybe by sharing what I do for a living, and my hobby, I can connect with others who share similar interests. . . And make money on the side, of course.

The format and set-up and execution of Steemit is rather confusing, and flawed, at a rudimentary level.

Steem, the cryptocurrency, is only valued at $0.14 cents per $1 USD, with a projected value of $0.05 per $1 USD by the end of 2020. This site is like a ghost town, too. Articles that haven't had any views or replies in 2-3 years keep popping up.

I don't even know if there's anyone here anymore. It feels like, as I post this, I'm about to whisper into a void.

Anyway, hoping to learn what this site is all about and maybe make some friends!

Sort:  

Welcome, this site is not dead haha.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha, thank you for the reassurance and the warm welcome! I see you've been on Steemit since 2016! May I ask for your advice? Do people post fiction stories on here? I was thinking of having two accounts on Steemit. Professionally, I am a fiction thriller writer. I even travel around the country writing non-fiction about true-life mysterious and macabre stories. As a side hobby, I love trading Forex and stocks. I was thinking it might be neat to make one account for the macabre stuff, and the other account for financial tutorials. Is that allowed on Steemit? Are Steemit readers even interested in reading travel or fiction thrillers?

Yes, you can post fiction or whatever you like, (https://steemit.com/trending/fiction — some fiction posts)

Also, you can have as many as accounts you like :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @ransomelocke! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ commemorative badge refactored
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Welcome to the community!

Download the Partiko app below to start earning Partiko points which can be converted into Steem.

Start here - https://partiko.app/referral/jmehta

Hey, jmehta, thank you for the warm welcome. I have a question perhaps you can answer. I keep seeing blog posts that say "Pending payout amount" and then a Breakdown of SBD, STEEM, and SP. What does that mean? If someone earns 100 STEEM, and STEEM is only $0.14 per $1.00 USD, does that mean that person earned $14?

The post earns 14$, however you earn 75% of the post as the author.
The remaining 25% is curated with the users have upvoted and commented on the author's post.

I hope this makes sense.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70439.87
ETH 3810.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44