A quick introduction

in #introduction7 years ago

Hey there, Steemit,

I'm Will, and I'm starting out here without a specific focus for writing at the moment. I'm a lover of nerdy science topics, the San Francisco Giants, Shakespeare, and horror movies (list not all-inclusive), so don't be surprised if my posts at any point incorporate at least one of those topics.

I graduated from UC Davis in June 2016, with a B.S. in Microbiology and a minor in Global Disease Biology--in short, a young scientist with huge dreams of fighting against infectious diseases around the world. Unlike many of my peers, I chose to steer clear of the pre-medical pathway (though there was probably about 90% overlap) in order to focus on basic science research and public health, which I still remain dedicated to pursuing. My educational aspirations haven't ended with a college degree, but I'm sure I'll end up writing more about that later.

In high school, I maintained a Tumblr dedicated to creative writing, primarily poetry. In retrospect, I can look back on that period with plenty of fondness for the joy I got out of writing for an audience, but also a reflex to cringe at a decent chunk of my efforts. I suppose in some ways I want for Steemit to be a new platform for me to produce creative work, separate from earlier experiments by time and distance--we'll see if my creative spark flickers back into existence. Whether or not that's the case, I anticipate this blog (it's a blog, right?) will be an amalgamation of poems, musings, and writings about science in some way shape or form, so hopefully that's of interest to at least a few of you.

Thanks for reading, and hopefully I'll have the diligence to generate more content soon. Until then, stay gold, Ponyboy.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! You will find all types of things on here, and a friendly community, unlike on some of the other bigger platforms...plus you can earn for being involved. Enjoy your time on Steemit.

Thanks for the welcome!

Welcome to Steemit Will! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61209.23
ETH 2940.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73