Introduction

in #introduction7 years ago (edited)

Hello Jr here, I am a 31 years old Marine Corps. brat born in the Philippines and raised around the world at all my father's duty stations. I have the most full and utmost respect for the Corps. and any other branch of our Arms Forces. I am American-Filipino now living in the Philippines.

I spent most of my life in what I call "Life Boot Camp." Waking up at 0400, hitting the head for hygiene, making my rack (bed) and fixing my foot locker according to Marine Corps. standards, then standing at attention to await inspection from sir (dad). This procedure was taught to me at the age of 4. Not only was I raised by this procedure alone, I was also raised to address people as Sir or Ma'am.

I guess my father wanted to distill a Marine within me, so along with the training (upbringing), my father had me and my younger brother eat the way Marines do, dress like a Marine would (in civilian clothes), walk like a Marine (attention, parade rest, at ease, left & right face, about face), even PT like a Marine. Then it was hell, but now that I look at it, it was a great way to grow up.

Being raised this way also came with the punishments of a Marine in Boot Camp. My father was to always be referred to as Sir if he didn't hear it then push-ups. By the time I was 20 I was then able to call my father "Dad." It sounds messed up but I understand his ways now.

Disciplinary actions included side straddle hops (jumping jacks), pull-ups, sit-ups, push-ups, bear crawl, duck walk, leg lifts, 1K jog, and the obstacle course. There's more but I think it is understood. It sucked then but made me who I am today.

I base where I am from by the place that I have lived the longest, which is Las Vegas, Nevada. My interests include getting tattoos, drawing using only pencil, Self-Defence, Science, Movies (except romances), jokes, Playing Pool, and more. It's sort of a thought trying to think of them all.

Overall I am an open-minded person that has no filter between my mouth and brain, I think the truth is always best, it may hurt to hear but never hurts as long as a lie. Among my friends, I am known as a Joker.

I am really happy to be able to share my thoughts and hopefully have others read 'em.

Sort:  

Hey @words-of-memory a.k.a JR. Good to have you here bro. I hope this platform will help you to conjure up and share some wonderful thoughts. Let me know whenever you need help bro. :)

Congratulations @words-of-memory! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has received a 0.16 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations @words-of-memory! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69603.16
ETH 3748.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75