Beginning Again

in #introductions6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit! So excited to be here with you all! My name is Kara Elizabeth.

I'm an artist, landscape designer, writer, and fledgling musician. I love to make great food, and I love adventures.

I grew up around the ocean - with surfing and sailing being a big part of my life. I've recently been able to jump back into sailing and it has been such a joy. (Getting back to surfing is next on my list!)

My brother, @lukestokes got me excited about joining up with Steemit to share my art and my stories. I was so amazed by the concept of Steemit. What an incredible way to start building something that has the possibility to create change and build connection at the same time. I was totally on-board and joined. Then I immediately got cold feet and didn't post anything! Fear and second guessing took over. But today, I'm finally brave enough to share!

So here are some photos and little tidbits to give you a little feel for who I am, and who I am becoming.

Painting & Art

For as long as I can remember I've loved to draw and paint. Both my dad and my mom were really inspirational in their drawing abilities. I decided that I wanted to develop this family trait, and grow as an artist. Eventually (through lots of outside encouragement), I pursued this dream and got an art degree. I'm super stoked because this year I was asked to join an art Gallery in Laguna Beach, California, which is a life dream.

Friends and customers often ask me to paint pictures of special moments or things they love. This is a painting I created for a customer who had visited Alaska and wanted something special to remember that trip. She asked me to paint a little fox for her too!

Design & Landscaping

Transforming outdoor areas into beautiful and connecting spaces is one of my passions, and I've turned that into a career/company, which has been such a blessing. I create all kinds of designs, small and large, you name it. I've seen what an impact this can have on people's quality of life and that gets me excited about helping people transform their yards (or even a balcony or a borrowed area of dirt!)

Good Eats

I'm always creating new recipes and improvising in the kitchen. I love fresh, good quality food. I've grown a lot of our food over the years (we've even raised chickens for eggs, and rabbits for adding fertilizer [aka, rabbit poop, haha!] to the soil – all in a suburban neighborhood!) And I like to support local farmers when we can. I'm looking forward to sharing recipes and food related goodness here.

Personal, Spiritual

I have a deeply spiritual side of me, and I'm continually working on learning how to have greater love. I want to become more alive and unafraid. I've lived through my share of tragedies (loss of home, loss of parents, loss of child, brain tumor surgery, to name the big ones), and I still have a huge sense of hope and an incredible thankfulness for this crazy, beautiful thing called life!

New Adventures

I'm currently working on a book about how to create a yard/garden that is perfect for you (I've got over 12,000 words written – I'm a quarter of the way there! Woohoo!) I've written a really fun, Dr Suess style children's story that I'm exploring getting published. And now here I am with Steemit!

I'm so excited about what the future will bring and this new adventure with you all!

Here's to beginning again!

Kara Elizabeth @karaelizabeth
Sort:  

Welcome !

Thank you!

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote!

Thanks; I try to be kind with everyone I interact with and treat them with the same respect that I would want to be treated with. I think it's a good way to live, and people generally respond pretty nicely back. Makes for a much less stressful life! Thanks for the vote. That's cool.

Nice art!

Thank you for letting me know that you liked it! I appreciate that.

Niice art! Check this out @catherinegairard! Steemit is full of artists ^^

Holy popular Batman what a great post .

Oh my gosh, I'm totally laughing and happy right now! I love the way you wrote that!!! Awesome. Looks like you've got some cool creative/musical stuff going on. I liked your lyrics in the recent competition you were in. Looking forward to hearing more..

Awesome, I'm glad you like it! Thank you for telling me and for sharing it with a friend. I love to see the creative things that people are working on. So enjoying this creative and vibrant community.

Wow this is incredible. Such a professional post!

Why thank you so much! I've always enjoyed writing and photography, so it was fun to be able to share both here. I use a lot of photos I take for my art and garden businesses, so it's nice to know I'm on the right track. Thanks for sharing!

Welcome! Any sister of @lukestokes is a friend of mine! I love your artwork and I look forward to seeing more of it here.

Thanks Sean! :)

Wow, thanks for the beautiful welcome, Sean! So glad to finally be in @lukestokes world! We've been talking about it for so long, and he's been telling me about all the things he's been learning and how he's grown. I'm glad that I finally jumped in too.
I noticed that you have yoga as an interest on your profile. I have been practicing yoga for the past two years or so, and all I can say is "transformation". I feel like a secret super hero because of the strength I've gained through consistently practicing. I'm constantly amazed by it.
Thanks again for the welcome. All the best!

Wow! Quite amazing work!

Sweet! Thank you so much! So cool to hear.

really great paintings @karaelizabeth, and welcome to STEEMIT! I look forward to "appreciating" your watery landscapes and other artwork as well! 😀

A very big thank you for your welcome and compliments on my artwork. That means a lot to me. I've got another two posts in the works and many more to follow. So happy to be here.

well, I look forward to seeing them, bring 'em on! :)

welcome Kara Elizabeth ... great having you here. So lloking forward for your upcoming posts... I really do hope they going to be as exiciting as this little preview you just have given to us.

warm regards

Thank you for the wonderful welcome! I'm working on some fun new posts today, and just loving the process! So many great things to share.
I love your colorful profile image and startup business! My mom used to make the most amazing flavored liquours with sweet berries and herbs - your photo reminds me of that. I wish I was in Germany to support you! I've traveled through Germany and stayed with a family there that grew most of their own food - so inspiring for me. I hope to return again some day. May you have rich success with your lovely new endeavor.

Thank you for the kind words, dear ... lets make this a fun place to be for everyone. I wish you all the best of luck here on steemit :) huggs

btw: upped & resteemed so all of us can get a chance seing quality content :)

Thank you so much for the great vote of confidence! I'm honored.

Welcome to the community!:)

Thank you for the welcome! Definitely appreciated.

Welcome, amazing art work!

Upvoted and resteemed. You draw and paint beautiful pictures. Highly appreciated. Welcome!

So glad you appreciated the post. Makes me feel great. Thanks for taking the time to comment and for the support. I'm thankful for it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97