My Portfolio and Cryptfolio - January 2018

in #investing6 years ago (edited)

I have to admit this has not been the craziest of weeks in any shape or form. I have been mainly focusing on what is going on in crypto world, adjusting my portfolio here and there as well as making sure I stay on top of my matchbetting schedule (does anyone still do that or even know what it is?). However, I still want to use this Sunday night to share where I am with my portfolio and have a casual rant to keep you guys entertained.

First of all, it should not come as big news to anybody who is at least remotely involved in crypto that we've been going through a correction and a period of sideways movement for some of the coins. The volume seems to have decreased a little bit from the late December / early January highs as everybody seems to be taking it easy in early 2018. It is really pleasant to see some green today though. Having said that, January has been so extremely mediocre that I would not be surprised seeing everything coming back to where it was by tomorrow morning.

Anyway, I've decided today to reveal a breakdown of my overall financial portfolio. It's not something that I have done previously and also it is not something that I see a lot of others doing. The reason why I am doing this is that some people seem to have forgotten what risk is, how it works (things can go down too!) and so that I could try and remind people to be sensible about what they do with their hard earned money. I find it frightening that people are actually borrowing money to invest in this highly speculative market. Especially after seeing the whole BitConnect thing go down and watching videos of people who've lost their life savings... I truly and honestly hope you were not one of them.

So this is how my overall portfolio looks like at the moment:

Property - 37%
Stocks - 21%
Long term investments (pension) - 21%
Crypto - 11%
Cash - 5%
Matchbetting - 4%

I am quite happy with the allocation at the moment and am not thinking of making any major changes any time soon. I will be moving cash around to either crypto or stocks once it becomes available depending on how I feel. I honestly don't think there is any good reason for me to keep more than 10% in cash. Having said that, every person is going to have a different risk profile and this is in no way a suggestion that your portfolio should look like this too. The main point is - don't put everything into Crytpo!!!

Of the 11% that I have in crypto this is how it looks like:

ETH - 43%
BTC - 16%
XRP - 19%
NEO - 8%
XLM - 5%
ETC - 5%
SC - 1.6%
FUN - 0.7%
RDD - 0.6%

I am tempted to call this a "pensioners" portfolio. I am certainly not packing my bags in preparation to "fly to the moon" with what I've got, but I am quite happy with my stack of large caps during the time when some of the smaller cryptocurrencies are crashing hard. My plan is to probably trim down XRP a little bit further and increase my BTC holding. I'd also like more NEO and Stellar, but I am yet to catch those two at good prices. We'll see how it goes.

I think I will be posting one of those monthly just to keep track of how I am progressing and obviously if anyone of you has any questions I am always here to have a chat!

Thanks for reading,
A.

Sort:  

nice portfolio man!! lil tip - center your images ;)

I am making a fool of myself asking this, but how do I do that? And is it too late to change it on this post?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73