You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where Are The QQQs Heading Next??? – Part 2

in #investing5 years ago

Now for the investing hat - which constituent stocks to hold onto and which ones to bale out of? I have my hedges in play with February and march expiries. I am quite light on Nasdaq stocks with some exposure to chip stocks and cloud computing. I will review the chip exposure (all small) this week and focus in on the long run winners.

Sort:  

The pundits say Tech is on sale. If the Markets are going higher, Tech has to lead the way. I haven't seen enough strength yet, in particular the chip stocks. Micron was upgraded recently, Nvidia is catching bids, but the the ETF, SMH continues to break down.

So far Netflix is is leading the FANG stocks higher, Google has held up pretty good.

My bias is still to the short side, thus how are you hedging, are you buying puts, selling covered calls? Thanks in advance.

I remain long in cloud computing (salesforce.com. VMWare and Workday). I am holding onto a few chip stocks (AMD and Micron) for the long haul. Last report I saw showed a potential bottom for DRAM prices. I have a few others - which I will review if I have time this week (AMAT. TXN, ADI, CRUS, CY) but they are all small holdings.

As for hedging I have been doing bear put spreads on QQQ. Set up is 2 or 3 months away. Bought put one strike out-the-money best bought on an up day. Sold put is 5 to 7% away and looking for a 200% profit potential. Looking to cover 5 to 10% of my portfolio value.

Now I did also put on a bull call spread on SQQQ on an account I cannot hold short positions. I bought the stock and then set up the spread as a call spread. Same principle - the spread can be closer together because of the leverage. Noticed a bonus - the SQQQ ETF actually paid a dividend this last quarter. Bonus

Using a naked put can also work as a hedge if you are comfortable (and have cash) buying in at a lower price. Like I did with McDonalds. Pick a level from the charts that you think is below the bottom and see if you can sell a put at that price - say 2 to 3 months out. Be aware of earnings dates and falling knife risk.

I continue to be amaze how you juggle it all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63423.66
ETH 3077.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87