A Look Back At My Penny Stock Picks For 2017 - How Did I Do?

in #investing6 years ago (edited)

Penny Stocks.jpg

About a year ago I wrote an article listing my top 5 penny stocks for 2017. It seems to have been ranked high in the search engines, as it has 5,412 views. But how well did I do trying to find successful, low-priced stocks? Well, let see what happened to them this year.

My list included:

  • Calibre Mining Corp
  • Western Potash Corp
  • K92 Mining Inc
  • Lithium Americas Corp
  • Galaxy Resources Ltd
  • -

    Click HERE to view the original article.


    Calibre Mining.jpg

    CALIBRE MINING CORP. (CXBMF)


    Original Price $0.20 - Today $0.10 - LOSS of 50%

    Calibre Mining Corp. is an exploration stage company for the exploration and development of gold, silver, and copper.

    Ouch! If you bought this upon my recommendation you would be down by half. Sorry.

    2017 wasn't the best year for precious metals.


    Western Resources.jpg

    WESTERN POTASH CORP. (WPSHF) - Now (WTRNF) - LOSS of 72%


    Original Price $0.18 - Today $0.33

    Potash is potassium-bearing minerals and chemicals, 95% of which is used in fertilizers. Estimates say about half of the world's known potash is located in Saskatchewan, Canada. Western Potash owns 88,500 acres in the prime potash area near the city of Regina and has been working towards bringing the plot into production calling it the 'Milestone Potash Project'.

    At first glance it looks good, right? Well, the problem is that this company was renamed to Western Resources and did a 5-to-1 reverse split. This means that they divided the share price by 5, which means that the $0.18 cent original price is actually $0.90.

    That's a loss of 72%! Oh man, I am not doing so well.


    K92 Mining.png

    K92 MINING INC. (KNTNF)


    Original Price $0.81 - Today $0.39 - LOSS of 52%

    Back in 2007 Barrick Gold (The world's leading gold miner) bought the Kainantu mine project in Papua New Guinea for $141.5 million dollars. The previous owner had spent $80 million so far. They then spent about $100 million dollars and 6 years on putting up buildings and other infrastructure and $41.3 million on exploration drilling and mine expansion.

    Oh no, another loss. This time 52%. I am NOT doing well here.


    Lithium Americas.png

    LITHIUM AMERICAS CORP. (LACDF)


    Original Price $0.80 - Today $8.92 - GAIN of 123%

    I am a huge bull on Lithium. It is used in the most powerful batteries, from inside of mobile electronics like tablets and cell phones, to electric cars (EV) like Teslas. In fact, the industry predicts lithium usage to triple by 2025. Goldman Sachs has called lithium “the new gasoline”.

    Finally, a winner! Only that this company did a reverse split as well. Woe is me!

    Good news, though. It was a 5-to-1 reverse split, this is a sorely needed win. This means my original recommendation is equivalent to $4.00. A GAIN of 123%!


    Galaxy Resources.png

    GALAXY RESOURCES LIMITED (GALXF)


    Original Price $0.44 - Today $3.10 - GAIN of 604%

    There are two main ways of mining lithium. One is a salty brine that is pumped up and allowed to evaporate, the other is a rocky spodumene ore. Brine mining results in a higher price per tonne, but takes years to set up the mine. Spodumene mining, however, can be up and running much faster but at a lower price per tonne.

    Galaxy fully owns both types of mining in three properties. Mt Cattlin (Australia) and James Bay (Canada) projects are spodumene, and Sal de Vida in Argentina is brine.

    Guys, this stock did not do a reverse split so the numbers above are exactly what happened.

    A GAIN of 604%!

    I certainly needed a winner. And this one is a whopper.


    What Lesson Can Be Learned Here?

    Well, if you invested $1,000 in each stock at my original price you would have invested $5,000.

    Today, you would have $9,520. Nearly doubling your money, and that is with 60% of my picks being losers.

    I know it isn't crypto gains, but crypto gains won't last forever either. At some point they will become a mature market.

    What I learned was that no matter how good something looks, you can't invest everything in it. The future is always uncertain.

    Except Lithium.

    That shit is hot. :D


    Remember that this was a look back, these are not my current picks. However, the only one I really hate now is Western Potash/Resources - they suck.

    Would you like to see my list for 2018? Let me know in a comment below

    Sort:  

    Always dropping gems on us. I need to finally pull the trigger on a lithium play and a crypt/blockchain one too. I plan on using crypto profits to buy these stocks!

    AVLIF is my most recent lithium purchase. LTHHF is great too, I need to get in on that one.

    You need to come on the show again, we can talk about blockchain related stocks. Hit me up on discord or email. If you have any free time the rest of this week I'm game.

    Sounds good, I am free too.

    Good stuff, thanks!

    Nice roundup and results! Can't win em all but nice end result.

    Its hard to even think about stocks with the cryptos raging! Thanks for focusing some attention on them.

    I know crypto is hot, but I like the blockchain side. Did you read my latest blockchain stock tip? QIWI. https://steemit.com/investing/@getonthetrain/russia-to-launch-cryptoruble-the-bitruble-here-is-how-to-profit

    Compelling stuff. I did just read your article and then googled "qiwi", only to see your seeking alpha article as the #3 result. Nice!

    👌 Google knows quality when they see it :-P

    Fantastic article! I would love to see you post more on Lithium stocks! You should also consider writing on SeekingAlpha.com

    PTN was a great penny stock to own in 2017. 2018 should be good as well (I hope!).

    You are in luck! I am a SeekingAlpha contributor! My latest article there was posted today How To Profit From The Russian Cryptoruble - https://seekingalpha.com/article/4135037-russias-bitruble-cryptocurrency-profit

    Excellent! Glad to see you're in many places! Also checked out your website. Very cool how detailed you get in your analysis and side hustles!

    Nice bud! How have you been? Just starting to ease back into the Steemit life myself. I bet big on a penny stock called ELTP years ago, should've cashed out some on the big run a few years back. Still holding cause I believe in the tech though! Cheers buddy.

    Welcome back! (You shouldn't have left though :D)

    We all have those 'dog' stocks. Sometimes they come back and surprise you though.

    Awesome! Would love to see your list for 2018.

    I've been looking at a lot of Cannabis stocks lately, CBIS in particular. I bought into it at .0525 so I'm pretty happy so far!

    MJ stocks are pretty hot right now, especially with California on legal MJ.

    Still, gotta be careful that the company has the right leadership. Lots of scammy ones when I last looked into that sector.

    Good point, thank you for the tip! To be honest I look at the development teams for cryptos, however in the stock market I rarely look at the development teams. Time for a change!

    Today was a slaughter for a lot of them as of 11:20am. Red across the board! Good potential time to buy.

    @getonthetrain I like what you shared here and I am really grateful that I am No Longer a Licensed Broker in the Financial Industry..............

    Why's that?

    Because I will probably never buy a stock again. At my point in life I don't want to own any stocks. Now Metals that's a whole different ballgame.

    Overall good profit you gain. Congratulations

    Yes it is, thanks for reading :D

    yes i like to your list for 2018 .

    Ok! I'll start researching :D

    I would definitely would like to see your lists for 2018!

    Congrats on 60 rep!

    you noticed! thank you very much, yes it was taking forever for the longest time.And finally! :D

    Wait until you are working on 70...

    I can imagine!! I'm sure you will be there in no time 🤗.

    I'm interested in seeing the list for 2018 as well. I'm following you now. The only pennies I own are USCFF and MCOA and I'm down a couple of bucks on both.

    Thanks for the follow!

    What made you invest in those two?

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.30
    TRX 0.12
    JST 0.032
    BTC 58557.01
    ETH 2992.97
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 3.74