One of the First Houses I Built! | Real Estate Investing

in #investing6 years ago


Hey everyone! I had a client ask to see a short video that showed off one of the houses that I built last year. This was one of my first projects that I saw all the way from start to completion on my own, and I’m really proud of the result.

These were all taken on my iPhone 6 at the time, so just wait until you can see the Kingsford project develop on its own and with professional camera gear, I’m excited to make some videos about that project and Brunner as well.

Brunner (the remodel) is almost complete. We hit a short delay with the painter, but we’re hoping that we can be totally done with the remodel in the next week.

Kingsford is still underway, they recently took out the steel frame and worked on the sewage system. They had to dig all the way from the house out to the street in order to get the proper lines installed. It’s a lot of work! Once all this boring work is out of the way, we can get to the part that’s really fun to do and watch - the actual building of the house - the interior design, the appliances, etc etc. That’s actually the part where creativity flourishes!

Side note: The house shown in this video is actually the same blueprint as the Kingsford house. They will look nearly identical when Kingsford is completed.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Very beautiful house.Real estate is a great investment option. It can generate an ongoing income source. It can also rise in value overtime and prove a good investment in the cash value of the home or land that you buy.

That is a beautiful house. I am really interested now in seeing the rest of your projects as they develop. Great craftsmanship!

Thanks @cookit! The next projects will look similar to this one and will have fine craftsmanship as well!

Hey man, the house is looking great, but I just have one tip. I understand the house is not fully done, but I would just take out the red carpeting on the staircase because it is setting off the nice vibe of the house. And also pick that cookie off the ground (31 sec) hahaha. Great post!

Haha the house sold earlier last year (before the house was competed). It's all furnished, decorated and cleaned now!

You did a real good job @khaleelkazi. I thought the current project was your first new house. You are on a role. Little by little you are taking videos and evolving into a Vlog. I also posted my first Dtube. It used to be so hard to get anything on IPFS on Dtube months ago no it is real smooth.

It would be cool if you showed some of the work on Brunner step by step. What color were the cabinets anyway?

Also Kingsford would look good going up. One of my favorite short videos is about a house being built by beeple on Vimeo.

Thanks @mineopoly! The current house is actually my 3rd from the ground up. My first project was the house shown here and the second was a similar model house a few doors down from this one.

YES! I'm glad I'm not the only one who struggled with D.tube, I was trying for weeks to get some videos on there some time ago, but nothing I tried would work.. After the recent update, I'm now able to upload without any issues. I'm glad you also noticed that it's slowly progressing towards the vlog - that's still my goal. Hopefully I can get a full-fledged vlog going soon! There's still a lot to learn.

The color is white, I've got a bunch of pictures and some videos of Brunner, I just have to put it all together. I really need to get better at doing that.

Kingsford is also coming along nicely, there's not much to see right now as they just finished up the sewage work, so it's basically just a hole in the ground with the concrete filling. There should be some great progress to show soon!

That video is really amazing and oddly satisfying to watch lol. Maybe one day my video skills will get to the point where I can do some sort of hyperlapse like that!

Don't worry too much. As video gathers you will have fun mixing it. The vimeo is only a few years old but it already seems like decades. I don't know if subprime is still an issue:)

Thanks and I agree, I've already had some fun playing around with videos and definitely look forward to working on it with some more of my focus. haha, I don't consider subprime to be much of an issue, especially not like it used to be. Luckily I still have my parents to give me advice when I need it - they were both in real estate during 2008, so I get the benefits of their experience!

@khaleelkazi at 31 seconds there is a video of a cookie, your subconscious mind is playing tricks on you because you are in keto xD
But now for real, if Kingsford is going to be identical to this one than it's going to be pretty good, with a little interior design and appliance, some good furniture, you will sell it in no time

Hhahahah I didn't even catch that @teutonium! That's hilarious!

Yeah Kingsford will be amazing, I actually just had a meeting with a potential buyer for Kingsford already, they have some signficant changes that they are considering for the interior, so I'm putting together some "add-on" prices/specs for them to look at! Fingers-crossed!

Very nice! I have been framing houses for the last decade or so and am interested to taking on the full job in the years to come... this one looked like a fun project and turned out great. Congrats!

This is the first time I read you, where are this houses build?

Hey @janine-ariane! These houses are built in the suburbs of Chicago (where I live). There's a few amazing neighborhoods that I love in this area and they have amazing schools, great local events, etc etc.

This one looks absolutely very nice! But I live in Belgium so I guess for me it is not interesting :-( But nice it is! I wish you the best of luck.

Thank you! I appreciate your kind words! Belgium is a place that I plan on visiting soon! Any recommendations for a first-time visitor?

Belgium : brussels (old buildings) some love it, I do not, it is a bit of a grey city. Antwerp a lot younger and brighter and loads of nice buildings. Brugges a place you will never forget, known for fantastic kitchens, it is like venice in Belgium, do buy your Pralines there ! Lillo a very small little village just for tourist, it is in the middle of industry, but that little village is left how it was, en so sweet, nice to sit on the waterside looking at the other side busy Antwerp. The French part of Belgium the Ardennes, are very nice too, and have a lot of treasures in the form of history.

This is really great, thanks for sharing all of this! I will definitely be referring to this when I get to Belgium! I've also never had Pralines, they sound amazing, I am absolutely going to try those!

Whenever you know for sure let me know where and how long and I will send some more info to you. Thank you for the votes! lol it is more than I get on my posts ! Really appreciated. :-)

Will do, thanks! Lol anytime :)

Are you jjust visiting Belgium? Or will you visit Holland and Germany and of France too?

I'm not entirely sure to be honest, my plan was just to see Belgium because it was recommended to me, but I could venture out (would you recommend doing that?) I usually find a nice AirBnB to stay at when I visit places and I usually don't rent a car, I try to get by on just public transport or Uber.

My husband is an Englishman and I am Dutch. there is definitely a lot to see in Belgium, but if it is spectacular? :-)
Where is it recommended for? I prefer Holland, Rotterdam Incredible, thinking in war time it was flat bombed, and they had to build most from scratch, no rules in building law! the weirdest buildings, I think on the kubushouses and the markethall, but there are loads of architectural pearls knowing you build, I think you would love it. Amsterdam whit its old waters and very causy center, very busy! More North in holland it gets more beautiful and friendlier by the meter. Miles and miles of flat land and water. Tell me what you want to see, what you like and how long you stay and I will send you stuff. :-)

how long are you staying? And where? do you rent a car or go by trains and busses?

I restored an 1886 Victorian home with the help of my wife. Did you do all the work yourself , did you subcontract, or do you have a crew? Nice work though and quality materials from what I could see. Quality content post IMO.

That sounds like an amazing project! I'm sure it was really rewarding! How did it turn out for you? I use a crew for these projects. Thanks!

Thank you for the reply and upvote!
The home was actually a parsonage so when things didn't go right I really had to watch my language : ) In 1948 it was moved off the church campus about a half kilometer closer to a little rural town. They took images of the move which we put into a presentation for the local historical society. We finished the project in September of 2008 a month before the financial meltdown in October. We watched our down payment and cash outlay for the project wash away. We stayed there another 4 years, but the value never came back during that time. We sold for a loss and bought the house we live in today. We continue to remodel and last summer added an addition for my wife's parents. That was done by a contractor, but I built a 400 sq. ft. deck to go with the addition. Thanks again!

Great Khaleel, just great. Am glad with the progress you are making. Don't let me small delays break you. You are doing just fine.

That house you built, the one in in video, looks really great. I like the size of the rooms , I do enjoy spacious rooms in a building. I notice that the space outside is empty. I think it would have been better if you plant grasses around the house. What do you think?

Thanks @lordjames! I really appreciate the kind words :)

We actually did plant some grass after these pictures were taken. I actually missed a lot of pictures for this video when I put it together, this is missing a few of the pictures we took last.

Beauty lies in simplicity.
loved the flooring and the showcase on the 23rd second.
Neat stuff.

I agree! I love simplicity in high-quality designs! More is less.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59561.47
ETH 3012.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77