You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TIB: Today I Bought (and Sold) - An Investors Journal #277 - Oil Shipping, Fertilizer, US Telecom, Gaming, Korean Steel, US Interest Rates.

in #investing6 years ago

Seeing your oil shipping trade reminded me of a position I had in Dryships and a Company called OSG; probably the worst trades in my life... Lessons learned anout trading on emotion but love your setup.

Definitely agree your thought of earnings season saving the day. I don’t think Q3 will be the same as the cracks will start to be seen in a number of sectors.

Sort:  

I was on DRYS too. The lessons learned apply also to offshore oil drilling - a few horrors there too.

You will find in TIB48 and/or TIB60 I did have a look at financials for FRO and NM and STNG - these all have acceptable debt levels and solid enough revenues especially with a rising oil price.

A research panel I contribute to is pointing to Q3 being OK - consumer and business confidence and spending plans are still robust. The quarter after that may be a problem. I will be looking for cracks - hence a fair bit of profit taking and defensive work in my portfolios

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59524.20
ETH 2999.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77