HELP! Do you KYA? - (Know Your Assets)

in #ira6 years ago

Linda-Goetze-e1517951204209.png

Do you know your assets (KYA)? Maybe you can help me!

Do you know what wallets or exchanges your digital investments are on and how to access them in the most efficient way? Maybe you are ahead of the majority and have your stuff together - encrypted seed words and private keys etched into steel and deposited in safety deposit boxes on several continents. Riiiiight....

Your private keys may not be scattered on random slips of paper that are shoved in a really secret spot or maybe slipped into the book you were reading when a friend called you and told you that you needed to download wallet X right away so you could practice transferring a super cool new token... Or then again, they may be.

And does it matter? Obviously, you don't want to be the guy that loses his private keys because his computer crashed and he hadn't backed them up in any way. Or, for that matter, the gal that comes home from work to find the house burned down and no recourse for accessing her digital wealth... So yea, be proactive and get your stuff together!

Possibly more pressing to me than the above aspect of KYA, is a question I am faced with today. I am hoping the community will help me to answer it. I am also contacting several internationally known experts and will do a follow-up when my sources have reached a logical consensus (is this even possible, I wonder?).

THE PRESSING PROBLEM:

After months of working at getting an exchange that would allow me to have a business account for my self-directed IRA, I have succeeded! I then created a model portfolio based on thousands of hours of paid and personal research. Sadly, Steem Power is NOT directly available on said exchange and I am forced to come to this platform in order to make the exchange. Steem Power is near the top of my list for good plays in the crypto space.

HOWEVER, there is no avenue for me to set up a business account on steemit.com. Having been very careful to follow all of the known regulations regarding self-directed IRA's, I'm hesitant to send funds to an account that can only be set up using an email and phone number. If that email and phone number is that of the manager of the LLC, would that be within regulations?

This crypto space is so new and the concept of a platform that is both a wallet and an investment platform doesn't fall into any known regulatory models. Do I need to go through KYC/AML for this platform to be a legit place to buy and hold my Steem Power? I know it's never too early to CYA because regulations ARE coming.

Advice? Do you KYA well enough to give me some help? Thanks in advance... LOVE this community!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62513.70
ETH 2949.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60