What's Good to Read? Keangaroo's Saturday Roundup, 24-Feb-2018

in #isleofwrite6 years ago (edited)

pixabay image by dimitrisvetsikas1969

I couldn't wait a whole week

to report my latest findings in Steemit fiction, poetry, art, and nonfiction.

Did you know black cats are less likely to get adopted, most likely to end up on death row, at animal shelters?

This Black Cat Gets Some Respect

@crescendoofpeace

My Bear Kitty Purrs - Day 45 - Daily Haiku

Dedicated to my Bear boy, my sweet black cat who jumps into my lap and hugs me around the neck, letting me know that no matter what, everything is always okay. I've never known another cat that does this.


Nope, not gonna copy/paste it for you. Click on the link.

What's This Cat's Deal?

@thatlovechild

Flash Fiction: Two Girls and a Cat

I love this! Splendid narrative with a surprise twist--poignant, too!

I saw the cat first and I knew they were back again. These two girls. And their cat.
And this:

...the glass eyed feline was right in front of me, staring as if it was peering into my soul. I stared back as I’m not one to back down from a challenge. And then it smiled. That was weird, I never knew cats could smile. This was a knowing smile, like it knew something about me, like it knew who I was and why I was hiding.


Clever story!

No cat here, but something sinister this way came:

@aschatria

Silent Water:Supernatural Manifestations, Original Fiction, Chapter One

A group of kids enjoying a summer afternoon on the beach. Life is good. Until…

...I felt something dragging me away. Thinking that it was one of my cousins I paid little to no attention, but then I saw all of them in front of me and me advancing by unnatural speed straight back dragged by some invisible person behind me.


You bring us into the mind of a terrified little girl, @aschatria, and we are so caught up in her Point of View, I totally believe everything this child-narrator tells us.

....There is nothing more terrifying but a feeling you are just a second away from the drowning and dark oblivion that follows it, and completely helplessness to do anything about it.


How can it be a fiction? It's much too authentic, however improbable the actual story may be.

Speaking of supernatural manifestations,

That Cat is Back

@guytmartland

The Suitcase Sign

Line after line is vivid, memorable, and endearing. This one has me laughing out loud:

The tall Slave has lost something which he deems essential for their break away, without which, from his plaintive tones, the entire holiday will be ruined. Eventually, I’m noticed in the suitcase and plucked up like a plush toy. I issue my own plaintive noise and…


The ghost next door - there's another story, there! Thanks for these vignettes, Guy (or do I thank the feline Muse?). I'm hooked! More please!

^^^ If they only knew...

Just How Much Do Reader Comments Matter?

@demonsthenes

The Tavern: A Choose Your Own Adventure Story, Part 1

This is my first attempt at a “twist-a-plot” style story, where you, the reader, decide where the story goes. I will try to keep each section short and will take your comments, as described above, to decide the next step in the story.

Exferlin sat in the corner of the gloomy tavern, golden eyes scanning the loud, boisterous crowd ….All in all, it was a typical Saturday night in Flotsam, the seaport town on the southwestern edge of the Inner Sea. Taking another drink of ale, he had just about decided his two hour vigil in the tavern common room could stand to be bolstered by a meal, when three men walked through the door.


Great dialogue and action ensue. Next, readers are left with the ball in their court:

-- If you want Exferlin to go with the thief and (spoiler deleted), comment “Leave With”,
-- If you want Exferlin to stay in the tavern and (spoiler deleted), comment “STAY”
-- If you want Exferlin to to tell the (spoiler deleted) to go screw themselves, comment “Leave w/o”


@demonsthenes will tally the comments and write the next section based on what you, the reader, want Exferlin to do on March 2nd, 2018.

#chooseyourownadventure is catchy idea, and I look forward to seeing where it goes!

@boladayl

My First Entry with Love from Lagos

@boladayl is "at one of the outlets of the popular Pep Stores in Nigeria's fast-moving and highly commercial Lagos city. Pep is one of South Africa's fast-spreading brands and has a rich array of products." A great photo of apparel and accesssories made from African wax-print fabric caught my eye (our daughter specializes in custom fashions, designed by her, sewn in Ghana, imported to her store in Des Moines).

You can always count on something new from

@yahialababidi

@yahia I Am Feautured in “Hotel Amerika” Spring, 2018 / Short Meditations on Cynicism, Spirituality, Suffering & Freedom

A collection of Yahia’s aphorisms are published in the new issue of Hotel Amerika — short meditations on Cynicism, Spirituality, Suffering & Freedom:

DSound

"What Do Words Mean?" / My 1st Collaboration on DSound—Music by@grant-vegra

As part of my testing the parameters of poetry, and Steemit, I'm happy to collaborate on this love letter to language with a fellow Steemian, sound artist: @grant-vegra … it is important that you can hear the words, clearly, and that the music is in no way distracting. I think … the overall experience of the piece is enhanced by the atmospheric sounds and meditative space that @grant-vegra creates around the poem. I hope that you will agree.


Art

@yahialababidi

Art Inspired by Islam—from an Italian artist

In a time of much suspicion, fear and outright hatred of Others, it's heartening to see foreign cultures and faiths presented with such elegance and dignity, in the work of Italian multimedia artist, Maimouna Guerresi—who explores African culture and is inspired by Sufism, the mystical branch of Islam.


Go, click on that link, and call up the images. Bizarre perspective - beautiful!

Spirituality

@yahialababidi

What if we consider America’s gun problem as a spiritual disease?


Byn to the Rescue!

@byn

Friday Favorites

A collection of @byn’s favorite posts from the week including poetry, fiction, art, non-fiction and music... with posts from @cizzo @raj808 and more.

Which post is filled with insights that Byn (and I) relate to? You’ll have to see for yourself!

Hint:

It really made me think of how often I hesitate and end up choosing to not interact with other people (especially in real life, but even online as well) because of some sort of self inflicted dialogue in my head.

Me too, Byn!

More Non-Fiction: Book Reviews! Contests!

@didic

Winner announcement for my book review contest!
Book Review Contest Winners and Thoughts

I hoped to get more entries in my first contest, but I can't be disappointed, as most of the entries were well thought out, well written, and engaging. Picking a winner was hard!


Need Artwork?

@steemitadventure

Steemit
Some artwork I am releasing as creative commons for people to use in their Steemit posts

And for now, on that, I will close. Post a link to your work in the comment section if you'd like more eyes on your fiction, poetry, art, music, or nonfiction.

And remember, that hashtag #isleofwrite is another good way to get more eyes on your work.

Sort:  

Great work @carolklean. Affections with cats

Thanks for the mention! I'm glad its not just me who can relate. If I wasn't feeling like I've been hit by a truck (made of the flu) I'd read and comment more. At the moment I'm feeling ridiculously incoherent. I love how much you support other steemians. You rock!

Thank you for mentioning me. Story will continue ... very soon... very soon...

There are more than 500 million domestic cats in the world, with approximately 40 recognized breeds.

Follow me for upvotes | Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 SBD and the URL in the memo to use the bot for a resteem and to get over 5 upvots.

A cat rubs against people not only to be affectionate but also to mark out its territory with scent glands around its face. The tail area and paws also carry the cat’s scent.

Statistics indicate that animal lovers in recent years have shown a preference for cats over dogs!

I just noticed you recently resteemed one of my posts. I am grateful.

You're welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70999.72
ETH 3678.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81