You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My "Convince Me" Challenge - Why I still eat meat

in #istilleatmeat6 years ago

What an interesting post.

When you say that you eat cruelty free does that mean that you take care to only eat food grown in ethically? Do you make sure that the crop pickers, the crop distributors, the crop packagers and everyone involved is payed ethical wages and has acceptable work conditions?

My question is not to undo what you do for animals, my question is to help spread information regarding the cruelty that people face so that we can eat. Here in California, our crop workers live in horrid conditions, California Produce eating vegans can’t really consider themselves cruelty free.

Sort:  

Hi @metzli,

You are making a valid point, however, in this challenge I'm only touching upon cruelty towards animals. I'm not discarding the human factor issue, but I see them as unrelated, because as you stated it's about working conditions of humans, rather than cruelty towards animals.

Humans always have a stronger voice than animals, and humans are not being tortured or killed for their flesh. That being said, it's definitely an issue that should be addressed by everyone, not just vegans.

Personally, I buy from local farmers whenever I can, although here in Panama where I live we don't have the same issue with farm workers as in the US. When I say that I live cruelty free, I just meant that no animal suffers because of what I eat =) I hope that makes sense. Thank you very much for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 68527.86
ETH 3564.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18