🎨 iTALENT Contest / No. 4 - Large watercolor portrait, making off

in #italent6 years ago


Last week I got tip from @ivan.atman for contest he is running successfully here on Steemit.

Since I started something, that I hope one day will become some serious story or material for exhibition, I decided to show you here process of another larger size watercolor portrait.

Paper I am working recently is new to me too, Fabriano rosaspina 300 gr. Usually I work on papers that have harder structure and aren't smooth like those I am working on now.
But for my idea and manner of work I'm in, it's perfect.
It allows water and color to make spots that describe shapes and shadows.
Watercolors are standard that I work with, With Nights, some Schminke pans and for blue I used Van Gogh Cobalt blue.



IMG_1298.JPG


Since it's 50x70cm paper size and portrait work, first I went with slight pencil work.
And after pencil first layers of color were done. For this kind of work paper is lighter, and in contact with larger amount of water, despite my tapeing it wrinkles.


IMG_1116.JPG



closer look



IMG_1117.JPG


Layer by layer and spot by spot shapes are building slightly. Greens and slight blues are giving deeper skin look.
Between layers there are moments of drying. Sometimes I wait for color to be totally dry, but sometimes I wait a bit until I put another color in previous wet one, and after drying they make magic.



IMG_1165.JPG


IMG_1168.JPG


Upper part was left white on purpose for last moment, where huge amount of water and color will make final touch.



IMG_1299 (1).jpg


IMG_1301.JPG

IMG_1297.JPG



And at final finished photo you can see that those wrinkles became smaller, so no need to panic sometimes. Also paper can be watered from the back side that will allow it to become flatter. But that is something you are doing on your own risk :)
Hope you enjoyed a bit in this ''making off'' since I had great time while working on this piece.
More are coming son.

If you are interested in learning more about watercolor work and technique check @water-art post

DQmTtxh5vwQwJX4o4k3463wrRAGGqtxvG5Bv28fJy3YFNPT.jpg

Sort:  

Novi Dizajn (Master).png

ITALLINE.png

Thank YOu iTalent.png

ITALLINE 180.png

muy buen trabajo te felicito.

I love seeing your build up of layers. I really love that about watercolour. The splash and drip and roll of it really make up a painting. And the way you are using it makes the image feel like a watery dream. I love water and anything to do with it, so to me this is so evocative of a water spirit or the lovely dreams one has laying by the sea in the sun when you open your eyes and the world is dotted with blobs of colours like pinks and reds, as your eyes adjust to the bright light. Wonderful!

Yes, you spotted this great, sharp eye has my @donadavisart. Those spots are something I'm working on now, and making portraits in this manner is something that keeps my mind in shape trying to resolve works with using lot of water.
Only those paper wrinkles are something I have in mind to resolve. Thinking first to water whole paper and work on it after drying. Maybe it will make paper less wrinkled.

You always paint so subtile exquisit Watercolor-Art .
Like it much :-) ♥
resteemed

Thank you dear @yoogyart, I am really happy you like them :)
Thanks for resteem!

So beautiful! I love the way you layer the spots and colors, and how they come together at the end. Such a fascinating process.

Thank you @offbeatbroad, still exploring this way of painting watercolor. Having several small issues but hope I will come over them soon :)
This way of watercolor use is very tempting for me.

This post has received a 4.41 % upvote from @boomerang.

Сјајно, @jungwatercolor. Доводиш ме у незгодну ситуацију — понестаје ми комплимената, почећу да се понављам :)

Hahaha, samo se ti ponavljaj @lighteye, mi umetnici smo ko deca, nesigurni i uvek nam treba podrska :) Veliko hvala !

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

@jungwatercolor Wow this is spectacular, it is so subtle but simultaneously so vivid, reason why I adore your approach and watercolor painting is that it requires so much improvisation, there is no going back in water coloring, kudos!

I would suggest if you haven't used, to use a more thick and rough specifically designed paper for water coloring, it is more fun when there is no wrinkles, and looks better when framed

I took a little time to retouch the picture to make it look more like it is in real life, just balanced the white a bit and applied dodge where camera created some shadows to the left, I did illustrations to vector so I am used to this :) just thought if you maybe want to edit the first pic so others can see more details, but just if you want.

Jungwatercolor_retouch.png

Thank you for this edit @ivan.atman. I am not so good with those editing tools jet. Watercolor this is, but it's 300 gr and it can't absorb water same way those heavy one can. And I use a looot of water :)
Thank you, and I'm truly happy you like my work :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95