Life in Osaka, Japan! Personally, The Greatest City In The World!

in #japan6 years ago

IMG_20171119_145245.jpg


Osaka, Japan. I hold it close to my heart for many reasons. The photo above was taken on the 60th floor of the Harukas 300, the tallest building in all of Japan (not including towers), standing 300 meters tall. It was always my dream to visit Japan and not only did I get to visit it, I got to live there for 3 months! 1 month in Tokyo and 2 months in Osaka. In my opinion, when most people hear "Japan" they are quick to think Tokyo. Fuck all that noise. Tokyo, while still an amazing city, is leagues away from Osaka and the atmosphere that comes with it. There's much to see and do in Osaka and compared to Tokyo, there is a much welcoming vibe.


IMG_20171223_171231.jpg

IMG_20171223_171239.jpg

One of the very first places my friends and I stumbled across was Namba, one of many districts located in Osaka. Here you can find streets just packed with culture, food, and shopping areas. At night everything is wonderfully lit up and the streets are crowded with locals and foreigners alike. Being away from America I have been pretty deprived of awesome food joints that are hard to find outside the U.S but lucky for us we stumbled upon Taco Bell, Wendy's and even a fucking Hooters! The first two you can find tucked away in Namba and Hooters can be found in Hommachi.

There are many spots to check out if you're ever in Namba:

mmexport1516433975519.jpg

1. Shinsaibashi
This is the place to be if you love food and shopping. Shinsaibashi is practically one VERY long street with tons of tons of awesome shops from cafes, restaurants, clothing stores, souvenir shops and tons more! Just walking through you'll be hit with an aroma of goodness coming from the many restaurants located here.


26025855_1096272200509929_7001726170788888690_o.jpg

2. Dotonbori
I don't know about you but I love to drink. Where's a good spot in Namba for that? Dotonbori. In a small little section that's relatively close to Shinsaibashi, you'll find a few streets riddled with many different bars and restaurants (no shortage of food in Osaka, I tell ya). An awesome spot for a good night out. Most of the bars located here have special deals on entrance frees and all-you-can-drink specials. Next to Dotonbori is a wonderful little stream where you can pay to get on a barge (little boat) and take a ride around town.


triangle-park-america-mura-in-osaka.jpg

3. Amerikamura (American Village)
Upon one of our adventures we came across an area called Amerikamura where everyone seems hip and in style and into the latest everything. Music of all genres are blasting from many shops and at the center there's Triangle park, where many young people like to chill and a skater's spot to show off their skill. It was here in Amerikamura that we met a very good Japanese friend of ours who helped open the world of Osaka to us more than we already had.

The people of Osaka is what really gets to me. Much more open-minded than Tokyo and more friendly than most parts of the world in which i have traveled. I've met many great locals here in Osaka that I plan on visiting for as long as I live for they helped shaped Osaka to be the best city that I have ever been to.

mmexport1516436245240.jpg

In the photo above are my friends and I having dinner with the Japanese friend I mentioned above. His name is Key and to us he's the motherfucking G. A wise man with many tales of travels from around the world. Humble and kind and always treated us with respect. Through him we gained much more experience and seen another side of Osaka that we never thought we'd see. It's also because of Key that we got to meet other awesome Japanese friends.

26240515_1104540149683134_7470693994292664941_o.jpg

Second to the right in the top photo is Masa. He's the owner of the bar in the picture. Second to the left is the homie Kimi who works for Masa. 2 awesome friends that we made in Osaka. Kimi, though, is the fucking man. Best bartender on the planet. He saw something in us and confided in us as good friends. He was the man with the hook-ups. Any night that Kimi was bartender was pretty much epic.


If the people and bar/shopping areas weren't enough, there's tons of beautiful scenery to captivate and make you fall in love with Osaka. From high up views to landscapes down below, there are places that are sweet, juicy and flavorful candy for the eyes.

IMG_20171119_143005.jpg
Harukas 300
Located in the Tennoji area. For 1,500 Japanese yen you can take a lift to the 60th floor and take a 360 stroll around the observatory deck where you are welcomed with such an astonishing view of all of Osaka. Yeah.....this city is pretty damn huge.


IMG_20171123_161658.jpg

23847451_1078301125640370_886620629969802493_o.jpg

Keitakuen Garden Tennoji Park
Also located in the Tennoji Park is this peace-bringing, magical garden. In my opinion it is the greatest little park I've ever been to. I'm not really fond of Feng Shui but smack-me-sideways-fuck was the Feng Shui on point here! I could sleep here till forever. My mind was at ease and I just felt great. You can definitely feel the positive energy just surrounding you.


24210179_1079945435475939_5800556397570549798_o.jpg

26172740_1100987853371697_2522337042547313188_o.jpg

Osaka Castle
If you're ever in Osaka, checking out Osaka Castle is a must. Not only are you granted with an amazing view from atop the balcony of the building but inside you'll be able to dig deep into the root of it's history and get more insight on Japanese culture. It's best to come here during cherry blossom season where the whole are really comes to life.

Osaka holds many charms. It is a place I will never forget and I will make it a mission of mine to eventually live there and call it my permanent home. If you'd like to see a bit more you can check out this YouTube video I made on Osaka.

Check out our YouTube page for more videos on not just Osaka but travels from around the world. I hope you enjoy the video and why not just give me a follow if you're interested in more blogs from around the globe!

Sort:  

The photos you took are beautiful. I've been to Osaka and I absolutely love the vibe of city. It's dynamic, fast-paced yet at the same time, not cut throat. People are friendly and are available to help you when you need some. I remember the days where I airbnbed at a local near Tennoji. Osaka is an unforgettable city!

15.jpg

This post is resteemed and Upvoted by @superbot

Follow me first and then Transfer 0.100 Steem/Steem Dollar and the URL in the
memo that you want resteemed and upvoted + Get Followed by @superbot !

So don't waste any time ! Get More Followers and gain more Visibility With Superbot
900+ Followers !

If you would like to support this bot , Please don't forget to upvote this post !
Stay Super !

Intro-New.gif

I am surprised not seeing a photo of the Glico man in a post about Osaka 😄.
Besides Shinsaibashi (which is becoming too touristy and mainstream), do check out the nearby Orange Street, which is gaining popularity among the hipster crowd in Osaka with its small cluster of quaint and chic cafes, as well as independent labels for the fashionistas.
Nice post!

Thanks for the reply! I never heard of Glico man. I'm worried i have potentially missed out on something great haha. I've been to Orange street. Never fully indulged in it. Osaka's all around great!

The city looks very nice and urban, I believe it is nice to live in Osaka.

Pretty dope blog man! Kimi, Key turned a good trip into an epic trip for sure. I'm surprised you didn't mention any of the dudes that enjoyed groping your junk, I thought that was your favorite part.

SHOW ME WHAT YOU GOT!

I really love Japan very clean and people are hospitable and friendly.

I want Japanese Hooters in my life...uh for for the wings

-in case my wife reads this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67