Random Japan pictures while touring on the motorbike

in #japan6 years ago

byebye police.jpg
Hello everyone, just a mash up of a few funny, interesting oddities while out riding this past weekend! I had to stop and get a pic of this guys car. I am sure back home it would just be asking for a pullover, but I suppose here the meaning is lost on the police! Definitely a rebel tho, and reminded me of my own car back in high school, and the many many tickets I received while driving it!

buddhist mark.jpg

Saw this in Kyoto but couldn't get a very good picture of it. It was a huge Buddhist swastika carved into hedges on the mountainside. I understand it can be confused with the infamous Nazi icon, however in Asia it is usually depicted the opposite direction and means only good things like wellness and happiness!

fingers up.jpg

Hehe, just had to take a quick snapshot of this manga in a local shop. Pretty sure this wouldn't fly in Canada! I found it hilarious to see two over the top schoolgirls flipping the bird..

I'll try and keep posting things I find culturally shocking as I make my way around Honshu on my bike! Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Hey @delian, I'm up in Tokyo. Saw you attended the Osaka meetup so wanted to give a shout out and a follow. 🍻

Great thank you! Hopefully you can join the next meetup and I'll post about it soon hehe! Followed

Hello, Delian.
It was nice meeting you. :D
I drew everyone and you can find your face.
Have a nice day :):):)
https://steemit.com/art/@sumomo/illust-steemit-meetup-in-osaka-26-mar-2018

Awesome it was great to meet and drink all night wasn't it! I'm pretty slow at posting and replying etc but I'm getting better! Followed! See you again.

haha I heard that you continued drinking until 6 o'clock in the morning haha (this posting @shogo)
See you again :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60682.45
ETH 2903.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54