You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Top 3 Reasons that Japanese Employees Are Never Fired (Notes from Under the Tatami Mats–28 … My Adventures in Japan)

in #japan6 years ago

@majes.tytyty
Japanese work culture, it seems kind of worthless for the little guy?
I heard about something called "Karōshi (過労死)"?
Is this a real thing?

Sort:  

Thats horrible...

Yep, "Death from Overwork." In fact, I mentioned it in a recent post ... https://steemit.com/japan/@majes.tytyty/top-4-reasons-for-japanese-to-commit-suicide-notes-from-under-the-tatami-mats-26-my-adventures-in-japan

When I was in Japan, it was a relatively common occurrence. And of course, there were many who were overworked but did not die. You can be certain that their lives were not the most pleasant and rewarding.

I had a student who worked for a major company here drop dead of a heart attack on the job, The guy was a mid-level manager in his early forties. I also noticed at the companies I've taught at that they all have large smoking areas that are completely full whenever there is a break.

And I've heard Toyota, Mitsubishi, and a few other big companies will ask ambulances to turn off their sirens if someone drops dead at work or commits suicide when they come to collect the body.

Nicotine+caffein+fast-food+long work hours+no exercise+alcohol in the weekend=death @ workplace maybe?

That's so horrible, I heard about these things but I never really believed it...
How can you find happiness living like that... I guess for the people who are extremely passionate about their jobs and don't have a wife and kids, its perfect, until that day when your boss asks you to "fire yourself"...
=/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59281.33
ETH 2982.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74